Googleween 2016: Pachimari & Video Games

4 Nov

This year’s Googleween was video and board game themed. Right down my alley! And since I’ve been mega obsessed with Overwatch recently I decided to dress up as one of the characters.

Mercy? Mei? Tracer? Widowmaker?

No. Pachimari! =D

Pachimari

image from Overwatch Wiki

I’ve always loved Pachimari’s stupid squeaky face, so when I saw on Twitter that someone had made a Pachimari costume, in a fit of uncharacteristic boldness, I contacted her to ask if she made them for sale. She didn’t, but she told me she would show me how to make my own Pachimari costume.

I know right?? How super sweet is that? She described how she made it, showed me some progress pics and even a little video. Of course, I still needed help because I can barely sew a button. So I begged Helen and she totally took charge and saved my bacon. =D

Here we are with the internal structure of Pachimari at Helen’s place (you might recognise the hamburger in the background from last year’s Googleween).

IMG_20161020_112432And some of the external parts!
IMG_20161020_175903
The costume took about 8 hours to make. Helen taught me how to use the sewing machine so I did the simple stuff and she did the trickier parts. I’ve never worked on something like this before and it was really fun and satisfying.

The next day we brought Pachimari home.
IMG_20161022_153536
Poor James had to take him to work on the shuttle.

He was a champion all day – costume wrangling and being the photographer for the people who wanted pictures taken with me. =)

But anyway, Googleween! This photo is out of sync because we took it at the end, but it shows the signpost for some of the attractions:
IMG_20161026_190014The booze was waaaay better this year! Not that I could have much – I was limited to drinks with straws that James would hold up to my mouth (I told you he was a champion). They had lots of thematic snacks as well.

Hedgehog donut holes (you can also see the pokeball cake pops to the right)!
IMG_20161026_160644 Angry Bird food! Plus some fruit skewers to the right.IMG_20161026_160651Diglet dig, diglet dig, trio trio trio!
IMG_20161026_160659Plus a bunch of other stuff that we didn’t get photos of. They also had petting zoos with teacup pigs (so warm and snuffly and sweet) and little hedgehogs (like patting tiny hairbrushes).

I entered the costume contest and thought I had a pretty good chance … until Jon Snow showed up riding a freaking handmade dragon. You can’t really tell from this photo, but up close it had individual scales and was super elaborate.
IMG_20161026_172147After the contest James and I kind of wandered around, taking photos and checking everything out. We had heaps of people come up asking for photos (at one point it was three groups one after the other and James said he was worried people thought I was one of the attractions).

Pachimari’s Big Day

Pachimari visits Super Mario World.
IMG_20161026_185448 And Donkey Kong Country. IMG_20161026_185020Pachimari is a big Pikachu fan.
IMG_20161026_184145(Actually this photo was really fun – when James put the Pikachu hat on me I could hear like, five girls start squealing).

Meeting his idol in person.
IMG_20161026_184506 And Charizard X.IMG_20161026_184550
Then he ate some cake.
IMG_20161026_180205And went to jail with Agent 47. A fair few people recognised James’ costume! Including one guy who asked for a photo of James strangling him … which is possibly how we ended up in jail.
IMG_20161026_181132 (1)
I definitely recognised some of the decorations from last year. The jail was there last year, a couple of the bouncy houses, and a maze in the middle. But there were also lots of new attractions that unfortunately I didn’t try out because of my costume. =(

They had an inflatable Hungry Hippos game, where people were tethered to the wall with some sort of bungee cord and they had to lunge into the middle to grab balls for their team. There was also a bouncing castle where you had to avoid a giant rotating beam in the middle, several obstacle courses, and this carnival ladder game.
IMG_20161026_182659Spiderman kept shouting at James “how are you not falling off????” It’s because a few months ago, he read one of those guides on how to beat carnival games lol.

But yeah, so that was Googleween. I know it’s probably lame … but I love it so much. Can’t wait for next year!

Leave a Reply

