Finally Adjusting to San Francisco

8 May

I don’t want to jinx it but I think after 8+ months in San Francisco I’ve finally gotten over my homesickness. It was truly awful for a really long time. A short, but by no means exhaustive list: I would cry (not even tear up; like, legit sobbing) when I heard my parents’ voices, when I saw anything Seattle-related and when I saw heartwarming scenes of people surrounded by friends and family on TV. It’s better for James too because he was feeling guilty and stressed worrying over me – he said that he used to panic if he missed the first bus home.

Our social calendar is more jam-packed in San Francisco than it was in Seattle. We still don’t have a group like we did in Seattle but we have lots of individual friends and that is getting us by for now. A few weekends ago we went to a lame Cinco de Mayo celebration in the Mission with Eliot and Michelle. There were a couple of food trucks but the stalls were mainly commercial – like for insurance and lasik eye surgery. Laaaame.

This was the only slightly non-crappy business stall at Cinco de Mayo – the Wheel of Rice where you could spin the wheel to win silly little prizes like spatulas and get free rice samples.

IMG_20150502_134219(I don’t remember making Mr. Burns hands)

Then on Sunday we had lunch with Bo and Christine in Mountain View, dinner with Chris and Alex in San Jose, and post-dinner Game of Thrones with Eliot and Michelle.

When we were talking with Chris and Alex, Alex was talking about how much she hated San Jose (which I totally get – every time James and I drive down that way it’s a huge reminder how we would absolutely hate to live there. It’s just so sprawly – nothing but houses and roads, and the weather is way too hot). But when Alex was talking about how miserable she was it made me realise that I wasn’t anymore.

A big part of it is that I’ve found a teeny tiny circle of friends. Helen and Anne Marie are also free during the week so we meet up every week for walks and girly things like brunch and afternoon tea. Last month we went to Kitchen Story (which blows Melbourne brunches out of the water. James wants to go because I keep raving about it) and a couple of weeks ago we had afternoon tea in Japantown. Then this week a bunch of us went to Erica’s rooftop pink party (where I got horribly drunk off just three cocktails).

10423849_795223620591992_4553378057808071435_n

image stolen from Erica

James and I have also been going to a board game meetup every fortnight. Everyone there is super nice and it reminds me of playing games with our friends back in Seattle. And James found out that he actually has friends in common with two of the board game guys!

Now that I’m not miserable anymore hopefully I can get back into the swing of things with gym and writing. I’m also very conscious that I’ve been neglecting the blog! We’ve been doing a bunch of stuff so I have a backlog of updates. =)

2 Responses to “Finally Adjusting to San Francisco”

  1. That Girl June 15, 2015 at 8:48 pm #

    Hi there,

    Stumbled across your blog while trying to research things to do/places to eat in Seattle. I’m from Melbourne, and my husband and I are stopping in Seattle for four nights in August – any tips?

    Your cultural differences posts between Melbourne and Seattle was an interesting read and made me laugh, because so many points rang true for other places in the US that we discovered while there for two months last year. Particularly the “mm-hm” in reply to my “thanks”, which made us laugh out loud at the time but also left us feeling slightly confused, because we couldn’t figure out if they were being sassy or dismissive? Also, the coffee. Hahaha. First night in, my husband desperately needed a coffee to stay awake, and I could smell the aroma of terrible from across the room. I sacrifice coffee when in North America and make do with cold Starbucks drinks.

    • pamperedhousewife June 16, 2015 at 12:27 am #

      Hey! Glad to hear that I’m not the only perplexed Aussie out there!

      Foodwise people say that it has great Thai and Vietnamese but none of the Aussies I know rated it. We did all like Paseo sandwiches though! There is an oyster happy hour at Elliot’s on the waterfront that James and I really enjoyed as well. I’d also recommend Marination Ma Kai in West Seattle which has a beautiful view of the city and you can reach by water taxi (if you can’t get out there, Marination Station in Capitol Hill has a pared down menu, no cocktails and no view).

      If you’re outdoorsy at all, two popular hikes with beautiful views are Rattlesnake Ledge (easier) and Mt Si (harder). I also really enjoyed the Underground Tour in Pioneer Square. If you collect the Starbucks “You Are Here” mugs my understanding is that there is a Pike Place one that you can only purchase at that location. And while you’re there you can try the best ginger beer in the world – Rachel’s Ginger Beer … I miss it so much!

      That’s all I’ve got off the top of my mind. Hope that helps and let me know if you have any other questions. =)

Leave a Reply

