Mutilated.

30 Dec

Do you remember that beautiful tree in the front garden of our house?null

While James and I were in Australia our neighbor cut off all the branches. James had given him permission to trim the branches overhanging his roof, not butcher it. This is what it looks like now.

image002Our beautiful view. Our beautiful tree. The little birds that used to visit us every day are all gone.

Our neighbor is super apologetic – he thought we would be just as happy as he was but it’s hideous and I can’t look at it without crying. He had no right to come onto our property and mutilate our tree.

I am having an arborist come over to assess the damage and advise us how to best repair it. If the topping doesn’t kill it outright it will take years to recover its beauty. From what I’ve read the best case scenario is that in Spring it sprouts rapidly as a defense mechanism, even though all the subsequent branches will be forever weakened.

I know it was just a tree. If it doesn’t grow back we can replace it with another. But it was one of the major reasons we bought this house and I loved it. It feels like such a major setback in coming to terms with moving to San Francisco – I can make friends much faster than it will take this tree (or its replacement) to grow into what it once was.

I know that part of it is Seattle homesickness and part of it is how much I miss friends and family in Melbourne. The time it will take the tree to regrow is a blip compared to how long we intend on staying in San Francisco. I know it will be better in a year. In a year, or maybe even in a week, James and I will be all like “do you remember when we freaked out about the tree?” and sort of smile sheepishly. But not right now. Right now my heart is breaking.

4 Responses to “Mutilated.”

  1. Shiva December 30, 2014 at 5:43 pm #

    Hi
    I hope you enjoyed your visit to Australia. I know how hard can it be. I think if it was me i could sit and cry for days. The most thing that i missed about Australia is our veggie garden, plants and tree in our house. The question is always there that if they have been taken care of or not. If it was up to me i would bring every single plant and tree with me. I know it will takes time to looks like the way it was but hopefully the tree will recover soon 🙂

    • pamperedhousewife January 1, 2015 at 2:43 am #

      Hey Shiva!

      The visit was great. =) A lot of our friends said that it was different when they went home but all of our friends had stayed the same and it was so fun hanging out with everyone.

      Fingers crossed for our poor, beautiful tree!

  2. Wendy December 30, 2014 at 6:54 pm #

    Reminds me when one of our tenants asked if he could ‘trim’ the 8 trees in our backyard we said yes without going into any detail with him, next inspection all trees were cut back to the stump, we were devastated (they never grew back). Lesson learnt- don’t let anyone do anything on your property unless you are there!

    • pamperedhousewife January 1, 2015 at 2:46 am #

      Wow, how could he possibly have thought cutting them to the stump qualified as a trimming? I would have been livid!

Leave a Reply

