I Bet the Germans Have a Word for HappySad

6 Aug

I get soo many hits on my blog from people looking for information about Amazon interviews and/or relocation. (I also get recognised on the street more often than you would think!) So it’s sad to be posting this, but James will be leaving Amazon at the end of this month. =(

Even more sadly we will be leaving Seattle. I can’t tell you how much I love it – the weather is perfect, it’s close to beautiful hikes and amazing snowboarding, and we’ve made such wonderful friends. Honestly I feel like I could have lived the rest of my life here. I don’t even get hayfever which is freaking astounding.

So why would we leave? Because James has accepted a job offer in California! He’ll be working for Google in an area he’s passionate about, so I’m absolutely thrilled for him.

It wasn’t something he’d planned in advance (as our SEA-LAX-MEL flights, my half-used CSA subscription and completely un-used 2014-15 season’s pass will attest to) but once the ball started rolling everything moved pretty fast. We just came back from a location scouting trip in the Bay Area and later this week we’re heading to Mexico to get our visas sorted. Then at the end of the month we’re moving into corporate housing in San Francisco!

These next few weeks will be pretty hectic. I’m super sad at leaving all our friends and this beautiful city but happy that James will be working at his dream job. So yeah, HappySad.

4 Responses to “I Bet the Germans Have a Word for HappySad”

  1. Stacia August 6, 2014 at 1:51 pm #

    Oh man! I’m so HappySad for you guys! My husband and I have really enjoyed reading your blog…we want to move to Seattle someday. He once interviewed for a position at Amazon (which he didn’t get, but we’re not giving up!), which is indeed how we found you. We have really enjoyed seeing Seattle through your eyes and are sad that your Seattle adventure is coming to an end, but so happy for you to get to experience even more adventures and hope you continue to blog!

    • pamperedhousewife August 6, 2014 at 6:25 pm #

      Thank you so much! It’s always so nice to hear that people are reading my random thoughts. =D

      Good luck to your husband for his interviews! One of our friends interviewed – I want to say 5 or 7? – times before Amazon offered him a job, so don’t lose hope. =)

      I definitely have a huge backlog of Seattle stuff that I need to blog about and I’m sure the upcoming move will provide even more blog fodder!

  2. mambigirl August 6, 2014 at 6:16 pm #

    Happysad face :)(
    We landed in Seattle just over a month ago and are loving it here! Your blog has been inspiring and a good point of reference during our relocation. Good luck and enjoy your new adventure and keep posting!

    • pamperedhousewife August 6, 2014 at 6:39 pm #

      I considered posting a HappySad face but couldn’t decide between =() or =)( so I like that you went in a similar direction!

      I’m glad you’ve found the blog useful. I have a couple of posts in permanent draft form – one about my favourite restaurants in Seattle and the other about where to take friends and family when they come to visit. I keep meaning to work on them because I (very conceitedly) think that people might find them interesting. And now proof! =D

Leave a Reply

