Just So I Don’t Forget!

23 Jun

James was watching the new RoboCop the other night. Afterwards he was telling me about the movie and said:

James: You know, the real heroes were the software engineers who wrote the program that detected who the bad guys were. Even though RoboCop was the one shooting everyone, all the real work had already been done by then.

The more I smirked the more indignant he got.

I also remember aaaages ago when he finished watching Rise of the Planet of the Apes he was like:

James: (in a really thoughtful tone) That was a really inspiring monkey.

And every time I bring that up he’s always super defensive – “well he was an inspiring monkey!”

James has odd movie heroes.

3 Responses to “Just So I Don’t Forget!”

  1. Ormi June 23, 2014 at 11:07 pm #

    Related bug-bear of mine: Whenever I watch sci-fi where the human heroes are doing “heroic” things that, at their level of technology, would be much more efficiently and accurately performed by a computer (like deciding when to raise shields, manually aiming lasers at other space ships or whatever) my immersion is completely broken.

    Like, I realise that what I foresee as a more accurate portrayal of the future (humans are outclassed by specifically designed machine intelligences in 90% of the jobs we do now) would make pretty terrible viewing as standard sci-fi, but still… the writers could at least put in a hand-wave about how designing a computer program intelligent enough to do those jobs inevitably results in a stereotypical super-intelligent paper-clipping AI, to show they’ve thought about the problem!

    • pamperedhousewife June 26, 2014 at 2:51 pm #

      My immersion! Now I’m just imagining you and James watching sci-fi movies grumpily with your arms crossed.

      • Ormi June 26, 2014 at 9:47 pm #

        Quite likely – I haven’t seen the new Robo-cop but based on what you said, I think James has a good point 🙂

Leave a Reply

