Hike at Poo Poo Point

2 Jun

Hee. Poo Poo.

A couple of weeks ago some friends organised a hike at Poo Poo Point. It’s a 7.4 mile (12 km) round trip with a 1650 foot (503 meter) elevation, so probably the easiest of the hikes we’ve done in Washington. It’s a very popular hike through a forest and quite narrow for most of the way. There was a sign warning about bears and cougars but we didn’t see any. =(

This was near the start and one of the widest parts of the trail:

IMG_3605

Since I skipped hill sprints that week I tried to jog up some of the hills. It was surprisingly okay, especially since then I got longer breaks while I waited for people to catch up.

Poo Poo Point is definitely one of those hikes where the payoff is at the end. I kind of don’t mind hikes like that – on something like Yosemite’s Mist Trail I definitely want to stop to ooh and aah, but on trails where the scenery is a bit same-same I like to challenge myself a bit.

We did find a nice bridge though:
IMG_3617About 2/3 of the way through the hike James was assigned baby-carrying duty. James said it was like having a little furnace strapped to his chest. He was a good little baby though, and apart from some slight awkwardness when he tried to suck on James’ boob, was content to dangle there in quiet confusion.

IMG_3626I think at this point we saw a sign that made us worry we’d taken a wrong turn (we hadn’t). Notice TJ looking like a vengeful ghost in the background. You stoooole my baaaaaby …

The view from the top was beautiful. We were fortunate because it was a clear day so we could see Lake Sammamish and surrounds. There was also a green strip that hanggliders and paragliders use to launch.

IMG_3653This is my James. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

We set up at a picnic table and had some snacks, which attracted scavengers.
IMG_3637

Victory photo!

IMG_3658The descent is always a bit boring because you’ve already seen the scenery and it isn’t the same physical challenge that going uphill is. I did get a chance to test out my new (to hiking) shoes going downhill and they were fine – much better than my old runners (toes jamming against the front) and my Vibrams (even worse – toe webbing jamming against the front).

Afterwards we had Victory BBQ. That’s right, Victory BBQ is a thing. A delicious, delicious thing.

 

4 Responses to “Hike at Poo Poo Point”

  1. The Lu Life June 2, 2014 at 12:56 pm #

    This sounds like it was quite a bit of fun (especially the BBQ at the end!) except for that hike back. Going back is always the worst part of a hike!

  2. joanium June 4, 2014 at 9:14 pm #

    I call Mia a ‘hot blood bottle’.

Leave a Reply

