Happy Thanksgiving!

30 Nov

This year for Thanksgiving a bunch of us went to John and Ashley’s place for a pot-luck feast. James and I brought some juice, wine and homemade stuffing.

Look at Dewey! So dapper in his little jumper and so excited by food and guests!

When everyone was serving themselves dinner Dewey got so excited that Ashley had to put him outside where he stared at us all longingly. He was plenty happy during the afternoon though, since there were snacks out all day. At one point someone dropped a stuffed mushroom that Dewey pounced on. He also cleaned up a bit of oatmeal cookie that I dropped. What a good dog.

There were too many snacks to fit on the island, so when stuff ran out it just got replaced with more food. I rather unwisely gorged myself prior to dinner.

And here is the lovely, moist turkey that Ashley expertly cooked and Luke expertly carved:

I quite like turkey when someone else cooks it! James is still not a fan though – he’s all about the stuffing, so I thought of him when I saw this on the table:

All the snacks were moved to secondary table (snack time is OVER, bitches) and we had a buffet line going. Ashley was very pleased she got to use her special Christmas plates.

On my plate: creamed green beans (I think), squash, turkey, mashed potato, gravy, cranberry sauce, stuffing, roast vegies and peas.

Afterwards we watched funny videos on YouTube and played The Resistance (yaaaaay!).

We also picked up some stuff (online) at the Black Friday sales. James bought a discounted Playstation Network 1 year membership and Assassin’s Creed 4. All of the good discounts are for PS3 games so James just bought the digital PS3 version and paid $10 to upgrade to the digital PS4 version. So crafty.

I was tempted by a few of the clothing sales but there isn’t anything I actually need. I did get another pair of snowboard boots (I decided to sacrifice some boot snugness in order to save my toenail). I wonder if I can alternate boots because it was only when I took off my boots that my toe started to hurt.

Just in case my toe toughens up I also picked up a pair of replacement laces for my old boots (not on sale). The cats attacked one of them and frayed it really badly. As soon as I fished it out of the bin to take a photo for evidence the cats were all over it. Kyoto isn’t in the photo but he’s the reason Mouse is staring so nervously.

Oh God the fraying! It’s like a big pile of hair. On the plus side I think the new red laces look better. I’d replace the old ones but a) I’m lazy and b) I might need another backup.

Stupid Kyoto. You ruin my laces and you ruin my photo.

Also Whole Foods had a Black Friday Special – 20% off beer so we kind of stocked up.

We had to get a bit creative in finding places to store the beer. We consolidated some stuff in the kitchen and when we got rid of this box Mouse was quick to claim it as his own.

Shoelaces and a box. Mouse has had quite a bountiful Black Friday.

Heading into Christmas the weather is starting to get colder, but it’s a nice combination of sunny and cold. Next week the lows will be in the negatives (celsius of course) and apparently there’s a 50% chance of snow in Seattle on Monday. I’m also hoping for a huge dump of snow in the mountains!

Leave a Reply

