Sailing, Sailing!

27 Jul

On Friday after work Chuck and Caroline took us sailing around Union Bay. The weather was beautiful and it was nice catching up with them while we all enjoyed the beautiful Seattle summer.

In this photo: James, Proud Chuck, Caroline and Mount Rainier!

Caroline picked up some Chipotle (pronounced “Chi-pote-lay” not “Chi-pottel” like we originally thought), we brought the beer and Oreos and we just kind of chillaxed. Well, I chillaxed while the others did the actual sailing. Though in all fairness it’s a 3 person job, max.

James was allowed to steer at one point.

It was a pretty calm ride but a couple of times the boat tilted really dramatically, which was fun. =) Whenever that happened I could reach out and touch the water (or if I was on the high side of the boat I would get flung to the low side – and then I could reach out and touch the water).

You can see from the horizon that I’m holding my phone upright and the boat is on a steep angle.

Seattle is so pretty! At one point there were even a couple of bald eagles flying around.

You can (faintly) see Rainier again between the trees and that big crane thingy. I still get super happy every time I see Rainier. I’ll probably have a few more (hopefully closer!) photos of it tomorrow since we’re going to Crystal Peak with Luke and Madeline.

So anyway, after some sailing and chatting we headed back to the dock where we … I want to say “dismantled” the boat, but that’s probably not the right word. I bet there’s a sailing term for it.

The Seattle summer really is fantastic. It’s briefer than back in Melbourne, but it’s amazing – warm enough to feel summery but comfortable enough to go outside. And not humid at all! It hit me really hard this year and I went out and bought like, 5 summer dresses and 3 pairs of sandals. It’s a disproportionately large part of my wardrobe to dedicate to such a short period of time, but I want to enjoy it while it lasts.

For the hike tomorrow I’m going to wear short shorts because I wear the same leggings every time I exercise and they’ve given me a tan that goes to just below my knees. It looks awful – like I’m wearing a pair of brown socks. I’ll look like the world’s sluttiest hiker but hopefully the tan will even out.

Of course when winter comes, that will be my favourite season again. But until then you guys will have to suffer through my smug Seattle summer photos. =)

7 Responses to “Sailing, Sailing!”

  1. shiva July 28, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    Hi
    I am so sorry to ask question again. We went for our visa interview today but then they asked for my resume which I have to sent them by email. They also said our visa processing dhould ho through administrative check. Was it same for u. Can I please ask if u had same thing hiw long did it take.? Thx a lot

    • pamperedhousewife July 28, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

      Hey, no worries! The visa processing doesn’t take long – maybe 1-2 weeks? Sorry it’s been awhile. Amazon does all the work so you shouldn’t run into any problems with the administrative check – it’s basically a tedious bureaucracy thing.

      • Shiva July 29, 2013 at 4:15 am #

        Thx millions for quick response, I read in the website and it said it may take up to 60 days:((( I have no idea why I also had to give my resume too. Was your case same?

      • pamperedhousewife July 29, 2013 at 10:48 am #

        I didn’t have to give my resume but I wasn’t intending on finding work in the US, so if you are perhaps that’s why? No idea on that one, sorry!

  2. Shiva July 29, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

    I also didn’t say that i want to work. i hope whatever is this processing or checking, be done asap, i hate waiting.

    • pamperedhousewife July 29, 2013 at 11:55 pm #

      Hm I have no idea then – maybe it’s something they’ve recently added. The bureaucracy is definitely tedious but it’s worth it to get to Seattle! =)

      • Shiva July 30, 2013 at 4:27 am #

        i know, but this admin processing is killing me, the whole day i was browsing and different stories that it may take forever. its really hard when i dont have any idea how long this process will take. i am so sorry that i keep asking questionssssss

Leave a Reply

