Hoo Boy – Big Shopping Splurge!

20 Jul

We spent a shitload of money in June. We went to a few nice restaurants (James’ parents were visiting, yay!) but mainly it was that we bought a lot. I swear we normally don’t buy anything and then suddenly in June we bought all the things. Fortunately the first batch of James’ stock arrived to ease the pain! I had a list of our purchases but it was getting embarrassingly long so here are some of my favourites:

Gentle Souls Opal Sandals ($180 -20% + tax)

image from Nordstrom

The footbed is super plush and the sandal are comfortable yet slightly dressier than thongs (which they call flip flops here). I get a lot of compliments on them and have been practically living in them the past few weeks so when the dark blue version went on sale (for around $90 + tax) I bought another pair. Seattle gets like 3 months of non-drizzly weather so I probably don’t need so many sandals, but they’re so cute that I have no regrets.

You can see the blue sandals in the picture below, along with a few of my other favourite buys from June.

Balenciaga Town Bag ($1495 + tax)

I love the Town I don’t tend to carry much with me (phone, wallet, keys) so it’s a great “everyday” size. I added a notepad, pen, tissues and tiny sunscreen since there was more than enough room.

I tried the City but it was way too big and I think the Town worn crossbody looks better on a petite frame. The bag was a total splurge but I wear it all the time and it goes with (almost) everything.

Gap Leather Flip Flops ($24.95 – 30% + tax)

These were cheap and cute. Plus rose gold is my favourite shade of gold – now I feel fancy when taking stuff to the recycling and garbage chutes. =)

Sam Edelman Petty ($89.50 -20% + tax)

These shoes have insanely good reviews and the Smokey Praline colour was on sale (normally $130) so I snapped them up. OMG these are awesome. They’re so comfortable and go with dresses, jeans, shorts, everything! They have a slight heel but feel like flats when I’m walking. I’m trying to figure out whether I can get away with wearing them with my Balenciaga Town or if I should pick up a pair in black.

So yeah, that’s like … 10% of what I bought last month. I blame the great sales (on top of already cheap prices), free shipping and free returns. It means I can buy clothes online, try them on at home, then return them if I don’t like them. I don’t even need to find a mailbox – I can just drop the package off downstairs for the front desk staff to give to the USPS guy. 

Also FYI I’m not the only one who went on a big shopping spree. James bought almost as many clothes as I did, plus a few big-ticket items (admittedly not Balenciaga big) like a wetsuit, a bunch of clothes and snowboard bag. Also a limited edition Skyrim board from Never Summer. Here it is mounted in the study.

You can see in the bottom left Mouse has some teeny tiny artwork hanging in his little nook. That’s because he’s a classy cat. Here, have a blurry photo of Mouse where he looks like he’s seen shit go down.

Updated to add a photo of Mouse being intrigued by the longboard:

6 Responses to “Hoo Boy – Big Shopping Splurge!”

  1. Ann Ash July 21, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    Helllo!! I have been lemming the Sam Edelman boots too but have been hesitating because I wasn’t sure of the sizing. Mainly because if the size is no good, shipping it back to US kills the deal. I’ve read half reviews saying they’re TTS and the other half saying go a size down. So since you’re familiar with AU sizing, do you find them true to size? I am a TTS 7 in almost all brands in AU. Should I be getting the same in these boots? Thank you!

    • pamperedhousewife July 21, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

      About 50% of the time I fit into 5s and the other 50% I’m a 5.5 in Aus sizing. I wear a 35 in Converse and Birkenstock if that’s any help. I just checked my Havs and they say 35-36.

      I went with a 5 in the Petties and they’re a perfect fit. I reckon if I had to I could do a 5.5 with thicker socks. The toes are slightly narrower than my other boots so if you have a wide foot I wouldn’t size down. Let me know if you have any other questions. =)

      • Ann Ash July 22, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

        Thank you! That is helpful as I have a pair of Birks and they are 37. I will take the plunge and order a pair, after I decide between the black or putty! Ah, decisions. 😛

      • pamperedhousewife July 22, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

        Awesome, glad I could be of help. Hopefully they fit! =D

  2. Wen July 21, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

    wow! nice shoes and bag! I still cannot justify spending so much on a bag 😥

Leave a Reply

