Board Games!

30 Jun

Our friends get together every week or so for board games and James felt bad that we had no games to contribute. So we started slowly amassing a collection of board games. I looked up the highest rated games on Board Game Geek and bought the ones that looked interesting (after getting James to check that we weren’t doubling up on any games with our friends).

Battlestar Galactica is our group’s current darling. We keep having to play a rule variation that allows for more than the maximum 6 players because so many people want to play. Also a couple of times in the last week we’ve had people call up and go “hey can we play BSG today?” It happened again last night but I think that might have been because we’re the only ones with air-conditioning.

But anyway, of all the games we own my favourite game is Resistance: Avalon. It’s much harder to figure out who the traitors are (which is my favourite part of BSG) so I think the player interaction is more fun. 

And where do we store all these games, you ask? (I know you didn’t ask). Couch storage to the rescue!

You can also see part of my collection of toilet paper, paper towels and dried mangoes. The board games are gradually taking over but that’ll change once I re-buy my year’s supply of toilet paper from Amazon (it’s actually more like a 9 month supply). Seriously, if you live in an apartment you need to buy the King Delta Storage sofa. You can fit so much stuff inside while still looking all streamlined and minimalist.

I think we won’t buy anymore games for awhile (though friends have been pressuring us to get the BSG expansions lol). We didn’t own any board games in Australia but it’s hard to resist here because they’re so much cheaper. Cat and Scott recently came to the US and stocked up on a bunch of board games and regretted not buying more. When we visit Australia I suspect our suitcases will be full of board games and cookie butter.

4 Responses to “Board Games!”

  1. Isabel June 30, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

    Oo, I need one of these board game couches. Or four.

    • pamperedhousewife June 30, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

      Ha, I never thought of it as a board game couch but I guess it is now. =D

      It also turns into a double bed for guests! We brought ours over from Australia because I knew we wouldn’t find one as awesome in the US.

  2. Shiva July 2, 2013 at 2:53 am #

    Hi, please let me know if you need any thing from here, I think we have to be there by second week in August:)

    • pamperedhousewife July 2, 2013 at 9:52 am #

      Thanks that’s so nice! We’re good for now since my sister and James’ parents have both visited recently and restocked us! =)

Leave a Reply

