Best Birthday Ever!

22 Mar

Yesterday was my 30th birthday and since James was at work I decided to spend the day snowboarding at Crystal. Afterwards James and I went out to a Greek restaurant (which I’ll make a separate blog post about).

But snowboarding-wise it turned out that I picked pretty much the best day of the season. It was amazing! Powder everywhere. People were calling it knee-deep but when you’re small it’s actually like … chest deep.

It wasn’t sunny but I don’t know if I could have taken a bluebird day – my heart would have just exploded from happiness.

It was busy in the morning (not terrible though – maybe a 5 minute chairlift wait) but once the chairlift accessing the more advanced areas opened up I could ride without seeing a single other person, then get straight back on the lift. Great for getting lots of runs in – not so great for resting my poor tired legs.

This was my view from a chairlift at some point in the afternoon. Nobody on the chairs in front of me and nobody behind me.

Earlier in the day I talked to a woman who had been there the day before and she said the trees had been completely bare. Also normally the tree on the right is covered with bras and mardi gras beads (you can see some bits peeking through). What a weird thing to do – bras are expensive! 

This is what the groomed parts looked like – absolutely nothing like the icy crap it’s been like for the past month. And even a hint of blue sky!

My favourite parts were just off the groomed runs though. Even at the end of the day I was finding areas with only a few tracks. It was amazing (and a little bit eerie) floating silently through the snow with snowflakes falling and nobody else around. I’ve been on empty runs before and I’ve snowboarded in conditions that were nearly as good – but having all that powder to myself was ridiculous and I had a goofy grin on my face the whole day.

The only sad part was that James wasn’t there with me because I know he would have loved it. I won’t rest until he gets to experience weekday powder!

I’m going to be so sad when the snow season is over.

5 Responses to “Best Birthday Ever!”

  1. faydanamyjake March 22, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

    Happy Birthday it’s a good decade the 30s I should know I bid it farewell this year boohoo 🙂

    • pamperedhousewife March 22, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

      Thanks! And I hope the 40s are even better for you. =D

      • faydanamyjake March 22, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

        Thanks 🙂 the trouble with the 40s is they lead to 50s lol

  2. Ormi March 22, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

    Happy Birthday Kaye 🙂 Scary to think that you’re 30 now (and I will be in just a couple of months, eep!)

Leave a Reply

