Installing the Ikea Maskros

10 Sep

James and I spent part of yesterday afternoon installing the Ikea Maskros. It’s $89.99 from Ikea (plus 9.5% sales tax) and we would have had to spend $50 on a Zipcar plus a couple of hours out of our day getting it. So instead I picked it up new for $99.99 with free shipping on eBay. James was most pleased. Incidentally that same lamp is $249 from Ikea Australia – a HUGE price difference.

I had a hard time deciding between the smaller (22″) and larger (32″) sizes but eventually went with the larger one because I thought it would look better with our monster ceilings.

Anyway, James did the light installing stuff which he said was really straightforward, but even so, Mouse and I were impressed.

And here it is attached to the ceiling. James turned on the electricity and flipped the switch to make sure it was all connected properly, then turned everything back off so he could keep working on it.

After that he attached the spokes to it.

(Oh also, yesterday we had some friends over and they said if it snows we’ll have a great view of cars sliding down that hilly road. Awesome!)

After that we spent about half an hour attaching the paper flowers to the spokes.

For obvious reasons James started at the top and I started at the bottom.

Even though James did most of the work earlier (though my ladder-holding-still skills were unparalleled) he let me hog all the glory and attach the final flower.

Afterwards James adjusted the height of the cord until we were both satisfied with the height. Surprisingly James was a lot pickier than me about how it looked.

I’ve seen some photos where people bought the 22″ size and because they have regular-height ceilings the lamp ends up looking about as dominant as the 32″ does in our space. I reckon I made the right call because I think the smaller size would have been swallowed up by our high ceilings.

Anyway, here is the finished product:

At night:

In the above photo I have the track lighting in the kitchen turned off, and when all the lights are on it does a pretty good job of lighting the living area. I bought a 40W bulb for it but it can actually take 75W – I think next time I’ll try a 60W bulb to see if it can light the room on its own. For anyone who is curious, you can change the bulb just by sticking your hand up through the flowers but it’s a little fiddly.

I’m so pleased with how it turned out! The living room was looking quite stark before and the lamp gives it some texture. Plus it draws my eye upwards and makes the room feel less bottom-heavy and a bit more balanced. All in all it took maybe 1.5-2 hours to install and was well worth it!

4 Responses to “Installing the Ikea Maskros”

  1. Ormi September 13, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    I must admit it looks a lot better in situ than it did on the Ikea website. The flower shadows when it’s turned on are a little bit too disco for my tastes, though 😛

    • pamperedhousewife September 13, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

      The shadows are much less obvious with the kitchen light on, I guess cos it backfills it or something!

  2. N November 29, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    Looks fantastic! Great job — congratulations.

Leave a Reply

