Moon Sad but Meteor Hopeful

11 Aug

I was reading the Seattle Times and there is supposed to be a meteor shower tonight between 11pm and 3am!

James: Yeah I read about that. But I didn’t tell you because I didn’t want to make you moon sad.

What is Moon Sadness?

You know how sometimes there is supposed to be an awesome lunar eclipse where the moon is supposed to go red? I get very excited about those in Melbourne. I’d wait all night, and then get James to come outside with me so we could look at the moon.

And we’d look and look and look but there would be too much cloud or pollution and we were never able to see it. Over the years James got resigned to being dragged outside to look at the non-existent fancymoon and then comforting me afterwards when I’d get moon sad.

Then the next day I would look at the articles online where they’d show a photo of the eclipse that was taken from the foothills of Hungary or something.

Anyone who has lived in Melbourne knows that moon sadness is a thing.

But anyway I am meteor optimistic. The newspaper was all like “look to the Eastern sky” We face the Eastern sky!

I’ve taken a preventative nap in anticipation of the meteors. Also because I’m sick at the moment, but let’s just call it a meteor nap.

4 Responses to “Moon Sad but Meteor Hopeful”

  1. Ann August 13, 2012 at 4:19 am #

    Hah! Moon sadness is definitely a Melbourne thing. We did have a great view of the last transit of Venus though. Hope you catch some meteors tonight.

    • pamperedhousewife August 13, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

      Alas the curse continues! I thought I saw one but it turned out to be a plane. Rats. =(

  2. Kalo August 13, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    you will never be an astronomer… you should look into astrology instead

    • pamperedhousewife August 13, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

      The planes were twinkling and moving! Much like a meteor might!

Leave a Reply

