Gradually Decorating the Apartment

11 Jul

For someone who loves shopping as much as I do it’s pretty exciting getting the opportunity to start from (near) scratch. We’re trying to not buy too much so our life doesn’t get cluttered and we don’t have too much to ship back when we return to Australia. But I do want to buy quality pieces that are worth shipping back.

Already bought:

Desks. Yeah I know that Ikea furniture is the opposite of quality pieces worth shipping internationally, but anything I liked and was big enough for James was just monstrously expensive. Plus we’ve both always quite liked Ikea desks. We got the Vika Amon desktop with one Vika Annefors leg and one Vika Alex storage leg each (Vika Alex not pictured).

We also bought some cable organisers that James screwed in underneath. All up it was $250ish plus around $80 for delivery. The ample storage in the desk legs makes the Billy shelf we’re having shipped over pretty useless. We had rental desks but they’ve been demoted to the living area.

image from Ikea

Wireless printer/scanner. We got the Epson Workforce 645. The 545 was available for a much better price but James liked that this one could do double-sided scanning or something like that. It’s living on my desk (good thing we got the oversize Ikea desks!)

James’ computer chair. James has always preferred the Embody to the Aeron. Soon after we arrived a bunch of stores had 15% off Herman Miller so we picked it up for $1045. This is definitely coming back to Australia with us!

image from Herman Miller

Weber Baby Q. We had one in Australia and knew that we wanted to re-buy it when we came here. It’s an awesome little thing and means we eat amazing steak once a week.

Floor Lamp. The study has no natural or overhead light and with the printer taking up much of my deskspace and James unwilling to give up any of his, the only option was a floor lamp. I bought the Blu Dot stilt lamp ($399 with 5% off but $19 shipping). It’s amazing how much better the room looks with the shaded light instead of the (rental) desk lamp.

image from Blu Dot

I’m trying to decide if the study needs a rug. Technically we don’t need it because we have hardwood floor casters on both our chairs, but I do think a rug would tie the room together better. Either way it’s not an urgent purchase so I can take awhile to think on it.

Sometimes I stand near the door and peer intently at the study, trying to visualise how a rug would work, and mentally going through colours. It makes James nervous though. He tells me that I look angry.

I’m looking forward to buying the other big items we need.

Bed and Mattress. I’ve planned for a mattress shopping expedition this weekend. This time I’m going to be the one to choose because last time I was indifferent and James picked this awful, super soft mattress that I hated. I’ve already decided on the bed though – it’s $699 from CB2 (plus 3% cashback from Fatwallet). The beds that I like slightly more are at the $2000 mark and I didn’t like them that much more.

image from CB2

I’ve bought these amazing linen sheets from Matteo to go with them. They cost almost as much as the bed! I’m also trying to decide on blankets – you can’t go wrong with white, but I’m trying to decide if a pop of lime green would work.

Nightstands. I’m not terribly fussed about having nightstands but James wants one; we never had enough room for them in North Melbourne and he wants somewhere to put his iPad and his nightly glass of scotch. This Blu Dot one ($449) is the current leader. I like the look and James likes that it has a little hole for his cables at the back.

image from Blu Dot

I’ve tentatively decided to go with the Dylan table from CB2 and the Hans Wegner wishbone chairs. I’m still not sure if they’ll go well together – I have considered buying the table and getting one of those cheapo replica Wegner chairs from eBay as a relatively inexpensive test.

Once our couch arrives and we know how far we’ll be from the TV James wants to get a Sony Bravia (either 46″ or 50″). I get final say on decorative items but he gets to decide when it comes to tech. =) He decided to get a Bravia because everyone we know who owns one has been really happy with their purchase. He’s also getting a soundbar. We randomly wandered into a Bose store where the sales guy demo’d a TV with a built in soundbar and while there’s no way I would pay 4k+ for a TV (especially since the Bose TV was kind of shit – even I noticed that the images were softer than other TVs that I’ve seen, and James said there was a dead pixel on screen that he couldn’t stop staring at) it did get me quite excited about a soundbar.

So yeah, those are the big things we’ve bought (or are going to buy) for the apartment. Last night James was very sweet and said it’s nice to have this stuff done for him. If it had been up to him he would have gotten everything at Ikea, but he said that this is much nicer. =)

11 Responses to “Gradually Decorating the Apartment”

  1. Ormi July 11, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    Personally I’d be wary of getting a “cheap” bed. Typically this means that it is constructed of chipboard or equivalent with veneer, which doesn’t wear well and is often poorly constructed. My bed before last was chipboard/veneer from Captain Snooze (not exactly a no-name brand) and one of the legs splintered right across the bracket area a few months after the warranty expired.

    As a consequence when I got my current bed I went for a solid timber option that is holding up much better so far 🙂 It’s far and away the most expensive bit of furniture I own, but worth it given the percentage of my time I spend in it!

    • pamperedhousewife July 11, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

      Maybe it was just that bed. All of our beds have been relative cheapies so far and they haven’t splintered like that!

      • Ormi July 11, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

        Well obviously not every cheapie bed will collapse in a manner similar to mine, but it is obviously more likely than if you get one that’s good quality. And up the top of your post you mention how you want to get quality stuff that will last and be worth the ship back to Australia in however many years.

        Your bed is one of the most important bits of furniture you own, so if it were me I’d eschew/delay getting bedside tables and splash out on the bed instead!

        (Disclaimer: I also think the headboard on the model you’ve picked is ugly. This may be a motivating factor for my advice :P)

      • pamperedhousewife July 11, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

        To me that means you should splurge on the mattress! Originally I didn’t want a super expensive bed because I remember reading that US king size is larger so I didn’t want to spend big bucks on a bed I couldn’t use back home! But queens are the same size, which I guess opens up more possibilities.

        The only other bed we’ve liked has been this one (http://www.dwr.com/product/matera-bed-with-storage-king.do?sortby=ourPicks) and it would be over 5k including taxes. =(

        So the peg bed is a compromise in that if they were the same price I’d go for the 5k bed, but otherwise I haven’t found anything that I like. The reviews are good and the website says it’s made of solid oak, so it’s not all veneery like you had feared!

      • Ormi July 11, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

        That’s surprisingly cheap for solid oak – maybe furniture is just cheaper in the U.S. And yes there is no point in buying an expensive bed and a shitty mattress, but equally I’d say you’d be silly to buy a shitty bed and an expensive mattress.

        Does the frame you’ve picked have one or more middle legs (i.e. the base is constructed such that there is a central beam running down the middle which the middle legs are attached to)? I’ve heard that in order to preserve the life of your mattress it’s best to have a bed that is constructed that way (caveat: the people who told me this were bed merchants, so I guess you should take that advice with a grain of salt).

  2. Kalo July 11, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    Kaye prefers ugly furniture, reviewing her previous blog posts can confirm this

    • pamperedhousewife July 11, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

      No to both of what you guys said!

      • Ormi July 11, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

        I’m afraid I have to back up Kalo here. So far I’ve disliked your choice of chairs, table lamps, dining tables, and beds 😛

      • pamperedhousewife July 11, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

        But everything is so Scandinavian and modern and inoffensive! =O Wait until you see my choice of artwork …

  3. joanium July 13, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    Lime green!

    Kaye, I have the same taste in furniture as you. Both Damjan and I lean to Danish and Japanese.

    • pamperedhousewife July 13, 2012 at 9:06 am #

      Yay Joan! =)

      Wood + white + clean lines = love! James is also a fan of most of it (though he HIGHLY disapproves of the cost of the Wegner chairs). If there’s enough room in the living area after our couches come I might try and push for the Eames recliner.

Leave a Reply

