The Mountains Are Out!

6 Jun

Just then I looked out the window and saw this:

I think that’s the Olympic Mountains. On a clear day there are mountains in almost every direction. Breathtaking. =)

4 Responses to “The Mountains Are Out!”

  1. Valerie June 11, 2012 at 4:33 am #

    Hi! I stumbled across your blog at 4 in the morning as I was stress-searching for apartments on-line in Seattle. My husband also got accepted to Amazon, and, as I cannot get a work visa, I am about to become a pampered housewife as well! Thanks for the early morning entertainment!

    • pamperedhousewife June 11, 2012 at 7:43 am #

      Hey there! Congrats on your husband’s new job! I hope he enjoys it – James loves it so far. We looked at a few places (Terravita in Capitol Hill, Marlborough House in First Hill, Alley 24 in SLU and The Olivian in Downtown) before deciding on Rollin St in SLU so let me know if any of those are on your list and I can give you our impressions. =)

      • Valerie June 11, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

        Thanks! I’ll let you know as I keep searching. This move is such an act of faith for us. We don’t even know if our visa will be approved until we are at the airport ready to leave. Apparently Jacob will have a 5 – 10 min interview with US immigration at the airport and they will either accept or deny our application there. Crazy!!! I really hope it happens, though. Seattle is a beautiful city. Hope you enjoy your new apartment! And thanks for the tip about the extra cat fee. I will make sure to ask about that.

      • pamperedhousewife June 11, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

        Hopefully I can help set your mind at ease about the visa. It’s a really standard interview – we did ours at the US consulate and it was about a 1.5 hour wait for a 5 minute interview! Amazon sent James all the necessary paperwork and the consulate just asked him some really basic questions like what he’d be doing at Amazon, how he got the job, what degree did he have, etc. I got asked one question about what I did for a living and then she told us our visas were approved, easy peasy! Oh and we had to have our fingerprints scanned.

        We came from Melbourne so we were already used to paying through the nose for property but apparently the rents here are pretty monstrous (especially since Amazon have been recruiting like mad).

Leave a Reply

