Selling the Apartment

18 Apr

We are going with Nelson Alexander to sell our apartment. We were also impressed with Thomson, but Nelson Alexander had more experience selling apartments in our building and their selling strategy aligned better with what we wanted. The Thomson advertising strategy included $2000 of newspaper advertising (pft, who reads the newspaper anymore) and $150 worth of flyer drops which I think is a huge waste of money because when I get those in the mail I just dump them and get annoyed. And I’m actually interested in real estate.

The agent from Nelson Alexander noticed small things that we needed to fix in our apartment, and had a very good idea of how much our place was likely to sell for. Plus he seems experienced and efficient. In the dud agent pile, the agent from Ray White never returned my initial phone call and the agent from Hocking Stuart made an appointment then never showed up (!!!).

James: I have a theory that our agent prefers to deal with you. Because you are chipper.
Me: But you’re the efficient one!
James: I am just the guy that signs things.
Me: Why do you think he prefers to deal with me? Is it just because YOU prefer me? And are extrapolating to the whole world?
James: Partially

This is like when he says stuff like “everyone likes you!” This is incorrect – it’s just that James likes me so much he can’t imagine someone not liking me. But that’s OK. =)

I’ve been throwing out, donating, packing and eBaying a bunch of stuff. We’re moving out of our apartment (sniffle) and into the investment property this Sunday. Then the carpenter and painter will come and do their stuff, and our agent will arrange for furniture rental and photographs. Then our home will be on the market.

2 Responses to “Selling the Apartment”

  1. wenflyblue April 19, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    oh dear…hope the agent you have chosen is competent and doesn’t muck around too much! btw I do think everyone likes key;-)

    I better hurry up and finish my packing….ha….we are leaving this arvo but I still haven’t decided what clothes to bring 😀

    • pamperedhousewife April 19, 2012 at 11:08 am #

      He seems pretty good so far! James is impressed, and James is hard to please. =)

      LOL I can’t believe you haven’t packed yet! You guys are going to hang out at the beach right? Just bring beachy stuff. =D

Leave a Reply

