Furniture!

20 Mar

Hypothetically if I had to buy new dining furniture in the near future (*nudge nudge wink wink*) this is what I would go for:

Hans Wegner Soaped Oak Wishbone Chair ($885)

image from Danish Design Store

Though I’m a little worried because some people have said they’re not the most comfortable (and in fact when I sent the photo to James the first thing he said was “looks uncomfortable!”. But every time I walk past a store that has them, I ooh and aah and promise myself that one day I will own a set of Wishbone chairs.

Hans Wegner CH327 Table ($4495)

The table is about 75″ which seems like a decent size for a dining table. I’m not really a fan of this warmer wood (I prefer the ashier wood in the above photo) but this was the best photo I could find of the table.

image from Danish Design Store

Sometimes the same wood colour can look a bit matchy matchy. I’ll have to see how the store down the road does it because their colour scheme is beautiful.

I also love the Hans Wegner Shell Chair and the Eames LCW but I think I might be pushing it with the dining set already. Though I could knock $2000 off the price of the table if we got a smaller one (plus we wouldn’t need as many chairs).

The more I think of the prospect of selling all the stuff we own, the more interested I am in owning only a few beautiful, well-made pieces. I guess I have to be vigilant about accumulating crap.

2 Responses to “Furniture!”

  1. polittacking March 21, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    that chair is both ugly & extremely overpriced

    • pamperedhousewife March 21, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

      You are wrong about the ugliness but correct about the price.

Leave a Reply

