Dainty Sichuan

2 Mar

Dainty Sichuan
176 Toorak road, South Yarra

A month or so ago we went with Howie and Silvia to Dainty Sichuan. James and I hadn’t been in awhile and Silvia had a hankering for spicy food. We had recently gone to Spicy Fish in the city and while it was reasonably fresh in my mind I wanted to compare it with Dainty Sichuan.

The definite favourite of the night was fish flavoured eggplant ($17.80). I was worried that I had built it up in my mind but it was everything I had remembered. I don’t even want to think of how much oil is required to get eggplant that soft and sticky.

The boiling fish in golden basin ($38.80) was the equivalent of the spicy fish from Spicy Fish. It came out quite theatrically, sizzling inside its gold bowl. Then the waitress scooped out most of the chilli bits – our whole table agreed that they probably reused them in the next dish.

James said he enjoyed this dish more than the spicy fish at Spicy Fish, which he was quite surprised at because he loves the Spicy Fish spicy fish. The fish was surprisingly light and was perfectly cooked – not soggy or overcooked at all. I was pretty impressed with this dish – it made my mouth all buzzy. =)

We also ordered the chong qing chilli chicken ($25.80). I’ve never met a fried chicken I didn’t like I think we made a mistake getting the one with bones. It was fiddly to eat and although it was OK I didn’t enjoy it as much as its counterparts at Spicy Fish and Sichuan House.

The dry stir-fried beans ($19.80) were another thumbs up from me. They were much less oily than the ones at Spicy Fish and I liked their slightly dehydrated texture. The dish was pretty salty though (and I have a high tolerance for saltiness) so if you don’t like salt you probably won’t care for this one.

The spiciest dish of the night ended up being the spicy green bean jelly noodle ($7.80). It was entree-sized, and I needed some big gulps of water while eating it. It didn’t seem that popular with our table and I probably wouldn’t order it again.

After our meal, James and I agreed that Dainty Sichuan tops our list of Sichuan restaurants we’ve eaten at in Melbourne. The waiters were efficient and quick with the water refills, and the food is bursting with flavour and reasonably good value – with a big beer and some soy milk it ended up being about $30 a head. I’ve been much less satisfied at much pricier restaurants.

Dainty Sichuan on Urbanspoon

9 Responses to “Dainty Sichuan”

  1. Kalo March 2, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    best sichuan resturant i have been too (china or aus) get the pork ribs next time 🙂 and more cold noodles!!

  2. Howie March 2, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    Cold noodles are lame! But Silvia reckons they’re top notch.

    • pamperedhousewife March 2, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

      I guess Silvia is the expert! You guys can choke down some more cold noodles in China. /nods

  3. Kalo March 2, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    yay silivia! boo howie!… cold noodles ftw!!

  4. xguard March 2, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    sweet the food blog is back

  5. Lin Hu March 26, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    Sichuan House opened another one in Richmond (395 Victoria Street). Not so spicy.

    Sichuan is my hometown, lived there over 29 years. I must say that we have those spicy food, but dont use that much chilli at all. Food, It is all about taste not about torture.

Leave a Reply

