Lamb Vindaloo for Valentine’s

21 Feb

For Valentine’s Day James and I had lunch at Middle Fish (watch for a blog post about that soon!) and for dinner I made one of his favourite meals, lamb vindaloo.

We bought some Jansz sparkling rosé (I can’t remember the price but it was in the low to mid $20s) which was very average. And by average I mean it was really crap and tasted like cheap passion pop. For a similar price we could have gotten the Brown Brothers pinot meunier, which is a much more refined sparkling wine. Oh well, lesson learned.

James: Noo you have to crop the shot or else they will see that we are drinking it out of wine glasses!

We bought the garlic naan but I made the lamb vindaloo myself from a recipe I found online – I think it’s a Madhur Jaffrey recipe but I’m not sure. It looks like vomit in the above shot but it was amazing. I honestly would not have been disappointed to have bought that curry – the only problem was that it took so long to make and I had to buy so many of the ingredients that it would have been cheaper just to buy the vindaloos. But we did get much bigger portions, and the lamb was free range, so I can’t complain too much. =)

Plus I can use up all those excess ingredients making another lamb curry! Only next time I think I’ll add extra dried chillis because James likes his vindaloos super hot.

The recipe was supposed to serve 6 but James and I ate it all by ourselves. With 3 pieces of garlic naan each. I couldn’t finish my vindaloo so James ate it even though he was full. He does this a lot – he keeps eating just because he likes the taste. =)

Ingredients

  • 2 tsp whole cumin seeds
  • 3 hot, dried red chilli peppers (I will try 6 next time though)
  • 1 tsp black peppercorns
  • 1 tsp cardamom seeds (seeds removed from pods)
  • 3 inch stick of cinnamon
  • 1.5 tsp whole black mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp whole fenugreek seeds
  • 5 TBSP white wine vinegar
  • 1.5-2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp light brown sugar
  • 10 TBSP vegetable oil
  • 2 medium onions, peeled and sliced into fine half-rings
  • 1 1/3 cups water or stock
  • 900g boneless lamb shoulder, cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 1 inch cube of fresh ginger, peeled and coarsely chopped
  • 1 small, whole head of garlic, with all the cloves separated and peeled
  • 1 TBSP ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp ground turmeric
Method
  1. Grind cumin seeds, red chillies, peppercorns, cardamom seeds, cinnamon, black mustard seeds, and fenugreek seeds in a coffee grinder or other spice grinder (I didn’t have either so used a pestle and mortar). Put the ground spices in a bowl. Add the vinegar, salt and sugar. Mix and set aside.
  2. Heat the oil in a wide, heavy pot over a medium flame. Put in the onions. Fry, stirring frequently, until the onions turn brown and crisp. Remove the onions with a slotted spoon (leave the oil) and put them into the container of an electric blender or food processor. Add 2-3 TBSP of water to the blender and puree the onions. Add the puree to the ground spices in the bowl. This is the vindaloo paste; it may be made ahead of time and frozen.
  3. Put the ginger and garlic into the container of an electric blender or food processor. Add 2-3 TBSP of water and blend until you have a smooth paste.
  4. Heat the oil in the pot once again over a medium high flame. When hot, brown the lamb cubes in batches then set aside.
  5. Fry the ginger-garlic paste. Turn the heat down to medium and stir. Add the coriander and turmeric and stir for another few seconds. Add the meat, the vindaloo paste and 1 cup of water or stock.
  6. Bring to a boil. Cover and simmer gently for an hour or until meat is tender (I think I went 1.5-2 hours).
Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 James-sized serve: (this is a little bit skewed because there was some leftover oil that I didn’t use) 1503 calories,  78% fat, 22% protein, 0% carbs
8 Responses to “Lamb Vindaloo for Valentine’s”

  1. Ben February 21, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    Wow! I’ve got to try this asap, it looks amazing!

    • pamperedhousewife February 21, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

      It was! I was patting myself on the back the whole time. =D

  2. Cat February 21, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    Holy crap calories! 😮

    • pamperedhousewife February 21, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

      LOL yeah. I think I overestimated them though, because I didn’t eat all the oil (there was some leftover in the bowl). But yeah, not calorie cheap. =(

  3. Ormi February 21, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    Jeepers 78% fat! How can there be so much fat and so little protein!?

    Also my inner English nazi insists on mentioning that you forgot an ‘are’ (or equivalent) in James’ wine glass caption.

  4. frugalfeeding February 21, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    That looks ridiculous. Who cares if there is so much fat – it must taste incredible.

    • pamperedhousewife February 21, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

      It does! I’d always kind of assumed that jarred sauces were good enough, but there is no comparison! If I increased the spice factor I’d rate it against any restaurant vindaloo. =)

Leave a Reply

