Mediocre Tennis Club

10 Feb

Inspired by the Australian Open, a bunch of our friends have started up a Mediocre Tennis Club. I’m not being mean by the way – that’s what they call themselves.

(Andrew’s masterful tennis pose is ruined when you notice that the ball is actually stationary on the ground)

Damo/Joan and Howie/Silvia have tennis courts in their buildings so every weekend or so, everyone converges on one of the courts to play. I’m not really a tennis person but I’m quite happy to be the ball girl (though apparently I have “attitude” cos I only collect the balls at the net and not the ones that go behind the players).

Howie’s tennis court is a few floors off the ground. On Australia Day James accidentally hit one over the fence, and Damo shook his head disapprovingly and said “that was unnecessary”.

This is where the ball went. You can’t see it, but it’s in the gutter.

Have an extreme close up!

I didn’t realise until I was going through my photos, but James keeps making this weird, confused face after his serve.

James: Why do you have a photo of me not doing anything hardcore?

In all fairness I can only work with what I’m given. Here is a photo of James scooping a ball off the ground.

Out of everyone, it is perhaps Kieren who is the least graceful in victory.

Since we have to go to the other side of the city, James and I usually take the opportunity to go for a run around the Botanic Gardens. Even though he’s tired from tennis (though hey, being a net-only ballgirl is no picnic!) he can do 1.5 laps in the time it takes me to stumble through a single lap.

James is pretty excited about the tennis club. He bought a racket, some balls (to make up for the ones he hits over the fence) and also some runners because his Vibrams don’t have enough lateral support. He was also distraught when he found out that Howie has been practicing his serves in secret. But I guess that’s what happens in the cut-throat world of Mediocre Tennis Club. You win or you die, Jamesy. You win or you die.

Edited to add:

Me: I just finished a post about your tennis club
James: Is it mean?
Me: No!
James: We’ll see

14 Responses to “Mediocre Tennis Club”

  1. James February 10, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    The name “Southbank Mediocre Tennis Club” was actually inspired by our other club, the “Mediocre League of Legends” club in which a bunch of us struggle against the bots on easy mode every Tuesday night.

    • pamperedhousewife February 10, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

      It’s easier to blog about your tennis escapades. Harder to blog about how Chris refuses to buy the recommended items in your League of Legends games and then runs away at PvP. “Every man for himself!”

    • Howie February 10, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

      I actually stole the name from the Mediocre Golf Association. http://www.mgatour.com/

      • pamperedhousewife February 10, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

        Next year it’ll be Louey v Djokovic. He played two marathon games in a row, but you walk up 20 flights of stairs after running. Who’s the real hero?

  2. Kalo February 10, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    it is definitely mean… and i will pwn you all at LoL, I am a DoTA monster

    • pamperedhousewife February 10, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

      At first James looked outraged, but then I think he remembered how crap they all are and said “fair enough”

    • Howie February 10, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      It’s called mediocre for a reason, if you’re too good, you’re out!

      • pamperedhousewife February 10, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

        You guys should play “every man for himself” tennis. When someone hits the ball at you, you run away and let someone else deal with it!

  3. Cat February 10, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    Isn’t that tennis dodgeball? I still have to get into LoL, but I end up drinking on Tuesday nights instead. Hmmm…

    • pamperedhousewife February 10, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

      Howie says you’re all talk.

      • James February 10, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

        James agrees

      • Howie February 10, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

        I think that I can speak fOr myself thank you Kaye

        @Cat, you are all talk,

  4. Cat February 13, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    Yeah I am =( It’s Valentine’s Day tomorrow (PORK BELLY DAY!) plus I’m starting choir the week after I think. Alas!

  5. xguard February 13, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    Tennis is like playing Ping Pong on a gigantic table.

Leave a Reply

