Simple Coleslaw

12 Jan

This coleslaw recipe from Smitten Kitchen is easy to make but surprisingly delicious given its simplicity. I’m not normally one for coleslaw because I associate it with that ridiculously sweet stuff I used to get at KFC, but this coleslaw is tart and tangy and great with barbeque.

We had it with some pork burritos and the flavour was great for cutting through the greasy (but tasty!) meat. I can’t remember how many serves we got out of this but I think it was 6 as a side.

Ingredients

  • 1.2kg green cabbage, cored and cut into 3 inch chunks, then finely chopped or shredded
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 1 large green capsicum, finely chopped
  • 1 large carrot, coarsely grated
  • 1 1/4 cups mayonnaise (I used 1 cup mayo, 1/4 greek yoghurt)
  • 1/3 cup cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp sugar

Method

  1. Toss all vegetables in a large bowl with 1 tsp each of salt and pepper. Whisk together mayo/greek yoghurt, vinegar and sugar, then toss with slaw. Chill covered, stirring occasionally, for at least 1 hour.

I didn’t think the yoghurt was detrimental to the taste at all (and in fact I’m glad it was there lighten the taste of the mayo) – next time I think I’ll try increasing the yoghurt.

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 serve (assuming my split between mayo and yoghurt):  240 calories,  60% fat, 9% protein, 31% carbs

Leave a Reply

