A New Addition to the Balcony Garden

11 Jan

Introducing …. the Yuckies!

James and I went to Bunnings to pick up a new shower head and while we were there we impulse bought a trio of yuccas (incidentally, we had always assumed it was pronounced “yoo-ka” but it’s actually pronounced “yuck-a”).

They were $36.99. The littlest yucca didn’t have an established root system, and I don’t know whether that is bad. They’re supposed to be quite hardy plants, so hopefully they won’t need much maintenance. Yuccas like a lot of sun, so they will hopefully enjoy our west-facing balcony!

Also here is my lemon tree (left) and my lime tree (right):

At one point all the leaves on the lemon tree turned yellow and fell off. But then they regrew themselves without me having to do anything. The guy at the nursery told me to not expect any lemons or limes for another 2-3 years. He also told me to fertilise regularly, but I totally have not been doing that. Cat neglected her lime tree though, and it still (eventually) produced limes.

I also cleared out some coriander that had bolted and dead, and also various clumps of soil and dead leaves that had collected around the base of the containers. Everything is looking a lot greener and less dead now. =)

4 Responses to “A New Addition to the Balcony Garden”

  1. Cat January 11, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    Haha, your lemon and lime are looking a lot healthier than mine, and mine are in the ground! Hopefully the transplanting wasn’t too hard on them – there are a few baby limes/lemons on each tree that haven’t fallen off cos of the winds yet 😀

    I also bought a banana plant. A red one!

    • pamperedhousewife January 11, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      For the fruit or the leaves?

      • Cat January 11, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

        Both hopefully! Though really, I’ve never cooked with banana leaves

      • pamperedhousewife January 11, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

        I bet there are recipes online! I think I read a recipe that involved wrapping a fish in banana leaves and bbqing it!

Leave a Reply

