Bourke Street Bakery

4 Jan

Bourke Street Bakery
633 Bourke street, Surry Hills

When James and I went to Sydney in November, I knew I had to go to Bourke Street Bakery. We went straight from the airport to Surry Hills, braving the rain and gross humidity. We were lucky to score a seat because it was tiny inside (there was some outdoor seating and also a park across the street but nobody was using those because of the rain).

My main reason for wanting to go was that I have the cookbook and wanted to try the finished products before deciding whether to make them. James was actually quite surprised at how quickly I chose what to order, because I’m normally a lot more indecisive.

The first part of the meal was a beef pie. The pastry was darker and more cooked than I normally prefer, but that was more than made up for by the giant chunks of tender meat inside. There weren’t any fancy flavourings to the pie, but it was very beefy and satisfying.

James preferred the lamb harissa sausage roll. It’s been so long that I can’t remember exactly what it tasted like, but I remember it was vaguely Middle Eastern, fragrant, and not as heavy as lamb tends to be. I looked it up in the book and it’s pretty easy to make, so it may pop up the next time I’m in the mood for a big cheat meal.

For dessert we had ginger creme brulee. James liked it but I was a bit meh. Though that’s not the recipe’s fault, and more that I think I’m just not into ginger in non-savoury dishes. The texture of it was lovely though – a perfect, shattery top with silky insides, and I loved the sprinkling of pistachio nuts on top.

We also had a passionfruit meringue, which I liked and James didn’t. I had expected the top to be hard, but it was soft and airy (and sure enough when I looked it up in the book they specified that it’s a soft meringue topping). I really loved the passionfruit curd inside, so I think if I make this recipe I’d just do the curd – how lucky that the easy part is the tasty part!

I think the pastries plus coffee ran a little over $36. Actually, speaking of coffee, my only complaint about Bourke Street Bakery was the coffee guy, who snapped my head off when I politely enquired as to whether the coffee on the table was mine (“I called your name multiple times“). According to James, the coffee was not nearly good enough to warrant that kind of attitude. The guys behind the counter were lovely, but he was a douche.

Aside from the average coffee and crappy coffee guy, Bourke Street Bakery was great, and if it were my local I would try everything on the menu (except maybe the prune tarts, I’m a little scared of those). Instead I will have to satisfy myself by leafing through my cookbook and making the recipes at home.

Bourke Street Bakery on Urbanspoon

4 Responses to “Bourke Street Bakery”

  1. ediblesubstance January 4, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

    Thanks fir this! I recently ordered the cookbook because it looks so interesting and this just gave me a bit more insight! Thumbs up 🙂

    • pamperedhousewife January 5, 2012 at 9:10 am #

      Glad to have helped! I can also recommend the pork and fennel sausage rolls. =)

  2. movita beaucoup January 5, 2012 at 1:13 am #

    I got the Bourke Street Bakery cookbook for Christmas (along with about 14 other cookbooks)! I can’t wait to try it out…

    • pamperedhousewife January 5, 2012 at 9:17 am #

      Lucky! I scored 4 cookbooks this Christmas (2 bread baking books, The Homesick Texan Cookbook, and the Gingerboy cookbook). Good thing I didn’t have a weight loss related resolution this year!

Leave a Reply

