Catching Up On My New Experiences (Plus Some Gratuitous Chicken Photos)

30 Dec

It’s been a busy few weeks so I haven’t been blogging about my new experiences as much as I should have (though I’ve still been doing them).

These photos are from the latest New Experience, where I had a baking day with Scott, Cat and Alex. I was annoyed at myself because I bought 500g of fancy Warrnambool butter that I accidentally left at home, and now I have a bunch of butter I need to find a use for!

We made maple butter cookies, gingersnaps, and espresso shortbread (though the last one didn’t really work out so I assumed it got given to the chickens). The original plan was to package them really nicely, but I just put mine in an ice cream carton because I didn’t have enough time. Everyone else had nice packaging though.

I always like going to Cat’s house so I can check on my awesome chicken nieces, and Cat updates me about what’s going on with them.

Ducky and the chickens are good friends. The three new chickens hang out with each other, while Gertie and Jermy are lesbonic together. And I’m not just saying that because they’re two old ladies who are good friends – if Gertie and Jermy are separated, Jermy gets all distressed and runs across the garden until she’s next to Gertie again – then they are content and keep doing their turn about the garden. But my point is, nobody’s that good friends.

But anyway, here are the new chickens with Ducky in the background. Things to note in this photo:

  • the awesome whiskers on Princess Layer
  • Anakin Skybawker has really pretty feathers but a bitch face
  • Ducky is digging herself a poo hole

I shouldn’t be mean to Ducky, because she chased away a neighbor’s cat who was stalking the chickens. But Cat said that Ducky once took over the chicken coop, and was sitting in there while all the chickens were freaking out cos they couldn’t go inside. So I am undecided whether Ducky is a hero cat or not.

Here is Cat’s new chicken fence. She got it to stop the chickens from pooping on the deck. She said it’s good for parties because people prop their drinks on the fence, and it has the effect of making the chicken zone seem like a petting zoo.

Also here are some extra photos of Gertie and Jermy loving greek yoghurt.

Week 1: Made vanilla extract
Week 2: BJJ day camp
Week 3: Used Myki and went to Beatrix
Week 4: Tried new skincare
Week 5: Competed at the Pan Pacs
Week 6: Joined Kiva
Week 7: Tried durian and frog fallopian tube
Week 8: Attended a chicken auction
Week 9: Graded for my BJJ blue belt
Week 10: Went to Isthmus of Kra
Week 11: Makeover at Mecca Cosmetica
Week 12: Tried the Melbourne Bike Share
Week 13: Picnic at the Carlton Gardens
Week 14: Johnston Street Fiesta
Week 15: Sydney getaway
Week 16: Helped James do a fresh install on the Vaio Z
Week 17: Tried Evernote (and loved it!)
Week 18: Rock climbing
Week 19: Baking Day with Cat, Scott and Alex

Leave a Reply

