A Sleeve For The Sony Vaio Z

20 Dec

I need a case for when I take my Z away from home – it seems a pity to buy an ultraportable laptop and not take it anywhere! So far I’ve just carried it from the study to the bedroom and also to the kitchen. I’m not really a fan of the official Sony sleeve – the high end one is $179.95 but I’ve heard reports that the leather feels quite cheap.

image from Sony

The 13″ Macbook Air and Pro cases are similar in diameter, but the cases don’t fit exactly right. I don’t need something with a lot of shock protection because my backpack has that built in, but I want something that provides some surface protection while being carried around.

I like the Nero from Hard Graft but they don’t do custom cases.

image from Hard Graft

Plus, the grey felt and leather look is a bit played out now that everyone is copying Hard Graft. And the Z is a laptop that deserves a case as awesome as it is. =)

I ended up going with an Etsy seller called The Office of Minor Details. It was $155 USD (including shipping) for a custom sleeve, so it’s still cheaper than the Sony Case. It’s handmade in New Zealand, and according to his feedback everything is really well made and the leather is great quality. I normally prefer natural coloured leather, but went with black to match the laptop.

image from The Office of Minor Details

Also when James and I measured the laptop it turned out the official measurements weren’t quite right. Sony’s measurements are 33cm x 1.6-2.5cm x 21cm, but our measurements (multiple times with different rulers) were 33cm x 21.3cm (to account for the pins at the back) x 1.9cm. Weird.

image from The Office of Minor Details

James: Nooooo you have to stop buying things.
Me: *shameface*
James: (accusingly) It’s almost Christmas! You have to leave something for the cats to get you!

5 Responses to “A Sleeve For The Sony Vaio Z”

  1. xguard December 20, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    Your cats look cute, look at Mouse resting its chin on the box.

    • pamperedhousewife December 20, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

      It was Kyoto’s box first, but then Mouse squeezed his way in and broke it. =(

  2. D December 30, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    Thanks for the reco, I am looking for a case for my new Vaio Z and may go with this one. Since its made for the MacBook Air does it fit snug into the case? Thanks!

    • pamperedhousewife December 30, 2011 at 11:51 am #

      I had mine custom made for the Vaio, which cost $155 USD including shipping. The fit is good – the laptop isn’t moving around in there but it’s not so snug that I have to repeatedly tug it out of the case, if that makes sense. The height (thickness of the laptop) is slightly roomier than I had expected – but again, not so much that it can move heaps – but I kind of like it because I think it will fit my Z if I ever get the sheet battery. The leather is lovely – it’s nice and thick, and smells fantastic. =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sony Vaio Z Sleeve From The Office of Minor Details « Diary of a Pampered Housewife - January 3, 2012

    […] thought I should update my previous post with actual photos since I’ve been getting a bunch of searches for Vaio Z sleeves. There […]

Leave a Reply

