Chicken Coconut Curry Meatballs

24 Nov

This recipe is from Primal Blueprint: Quick and Easy Meals. It’s a great cookbook, and my only regret is that I bought it in e-book form. I much prefer old-school cookbooks with pages, and find it awkward to scroll through my computer to get recipes. It’s one of the reasons I haven’t cooked that much from this book, which is a pity because the paleo diet is fairly similar to how I normally eat.

This was a nice Thai-inspired recipe that was easy to whip up. I really should make meatballs more often.

The recipe used dessicated coconut instead of breadcrumbs to hold everything together (I’ve noticed that paleo guys are big on coconut). Normally I’m a little iffy about substitutions like that, but in this case I think the coconut worked very well with the other flavours.

Ingredients

  • 700g chicken mince (they recommend a mix of breast and thigh)
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • large handful of coriander

Method

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix thoroughly.
  2. Use hands to form 24 meatballs.
  3. Heat several TBSP oil in a large pan over medium high heat. When the pan is hot enough that a meatball sizzles as soon as it hits the pan, put all the meatballs in.
  4. Cook 2 minutes, then roll over and cook 2 minutes more (the recipe recommended 5 minutes before but I found that too much). Put a lid on the pan and finish cooking for another 6-8 minutes.

I served it with choy sum and sweet chilli sauce. I think next time, in addition to reducing the cooking time, I’m going to use about 1 TBSP less oil, because I thought it was too much. But otherwise it’s a super easy, nutritious and tasty meal – and a great vehicle for using up leftover coriander.

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
12  meatballs:  780 calories,  39% fat, 55% protein, 6% carb

Leave a Reply

