Surveys For Fun and Profit

26 Oct

Lately I’ve been getting into doing online surveys for money. It’s not a lot of extra money, but I used to do them for free on the phone cos I like giving my opinion, so anything is a bonus!

I have $45 with Valued Opinions because they send me the most surveys

I have about $20 worth of points at My Survey (you cash out with Paypal).

I have $20 in gift cards at My View (options include Bunnings, JB Hi Fi and ColesMyer)

I have $16.90 at Your Opinion (you cash out with Paypal but it’s a little annoying because the minimum is $20)

So yeah, like I said, it’s not a lot of money, but it’s better than nothing. Those telephone people aren’t getting my opinion for free anymore! /shakes fist.

Most of the surveys are fairly standard, but sometimes they have bizarre questions.

Cider

I did a survey about cider. It started normally, asking what cider I drank, what cider I would buy if my regular brand were unavailable, and how I would describe the taste of my ideal cider.

Then it started asking personality-related questions, like whether I consider myself a leader or a follower, how social I am, etc.

Then right at the end it was like “on a scale of 1 to 10 how much do you support gay marriage?” There were a couple of perfunctory questions after that, but it seemed like they were just there for show, and gay marriage was what they were really interested in. So if they come out with Rainbow Cider I am going to feel obliged to buy it.

How Am I Even Supposed To Answer That?

A common question in the surveys is “if Brand X were a person, what words would you use to describe their personality?” And they helpfully give you options like “effervescent”.

A needy variation I saw once was “if Brand X were a person, do you think you would be friends?”

Once I had to choose 3 words to describe the sort of person who would eat pork products. The options were things like “masculine”, “adventurous”, “shy”. Unfortunately “not Jewish” was not an option.

I Hope That Was Useful For You

I did a survey about health insurance; how satisfied I was with my provider, what I thought of various other health insurance brands, and how likely I was to switch providers. At the end they asked me “what is the first word that comes to mind when you think of Medibank Private”. I wrote “insurance”. Then they asked the same thing for HBA. I wrote “insurance”.

4 Responses to “Surveys For Fun and Profit”

  1. joanium October 26, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    Wow, that gay marriage one was a curve ball. Maybe support of gay marriage is some kind of super proxy indicator of your political and religious beliefs?

    Or maybe the survey was actually from a gay marriage lobby group who is looking to use cider in their next campaign.

    • pamperedhousewife October 28, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      I asked Cat (who studied this stuff) and she seemed just as confused as me. Totally random!

  2. xguard October 27, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    woah woah, hang on a sec, do we get money from doing survey? Hook me up Key

    • pamperedhousewife October 28, 2011 at 9:41 am #

      Links are in the post! It’s not a lot of money though, so I wouldn’t do them unless you really enjoy surveys like me!

Leave a Reply

