Thai Green Curry Chicken Drumsticks

24 Oct

This recipe has been in my regular rotation for awhile because it’s really easy to prepare and tastes much unhealthier than it actually is. When I eat it my tastebuds are like “omnomnom, this is a nice break from healthy food”, and then I realise that this is healthy food but the tastebuds are like “pft, no way” (Way!)

I think I’ll start toying around with different cuts since drumstick isn’t my favourite (the bone keeps jabbing me in the face when I try to eat around it).

I’ve tried the salad that’s included in the original recipe but it’s no good, so I usually serve this with some steamed vegetables or bok choy.

Ingredients

  • 9 chicken drumsticks
  • 1/4 cup Thai green curry paste
  • 2 TBSP desiccated coconut
  • 2 TBSP brown sugar
  • 1 TBSP water

Method

  1. Cut 3 deep slits in each drumstick
  2. Place curry paste, coconut, sugar and water in a large bowl. Stir to combine. Add chicken and season with salt. Stir to coat and leave to marinate in the fridge several hours or overnight.
  3. Preheat oven to 200C.
  4. Place chicken in a single layer on a baking tray or baking dish. Bake for 50 minutes.

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 serve (3 drumsticks):  580 calories, 52% fat, 39% protein, 9% carbs

3 Responses to “Thai Green Curry Chicken Drumsticks”

  1. kat October 24, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    that looks amazing!! i can’t wait to try this out! thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Webbed Food September 14, 2015 at 10:57 pm #

    Reblogged this on Webbed Food and commented:
    Doing my own twist of this tonight… stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

