Reuben Sandwich

20 Oct

A couple of weeks ago, I made a sandwich so good I almost cried eating it.

Actually that’s a bit misleading.

I made a week’s worth of sandwiches.

And they were sooooooooo good.

Rye bread, buttered on one side, with thousand island dressing on the other. A layer of swiss cheese, some corned beef, sauerkraut, more swiss cheese, then the other slice of bread. I even went a bit fancy and made a cheat’s version of corned beef instead of buying it pre-made at the deli, and also whipped up a quick version of thousand island dressing. I wasn’t hardcore enough to make my own sauerkraut, so I bought a huge jar from the Vic Market.

After assembling the sandwiches, I chucked them in my frying pan and fried them for 10 minutes on each side over the lowest heat setting.

You might think that it was a lot of effort for a sandwich, but my God, you have not tasted this sandwich. 

Cheat’s “Corned” Beef

From this food blog.

  • 2kg beef brisket (get the butcher to trim the fat for you)
  • 2 stalks of celery, roughly chopped
  • 2 large carrots, halved or roughly chopped
  • 2 large onions, halved
  • 4 TBSP white pepper corns
  • 4 tsp black pepper corns
  • 2 TBSP mustard seeds
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 TBSP sweet paprika
  • 1 piece of cassia bark or cinnamon scroll
  • salt to taste

I just added everything to my Le Creuset and simmered for about 3 hours. Easy! I didn’t have enough freezer room to store the Asian-style stock it made, but if you do I think it would be well worth keeping.

Thousand Island Dressing

I used this recipe from Allrecipes

  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1 cup sweet pickle relish (I finely chopped a small jar of sweet pickles and said “close enough”)
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 pinch ground black pepper

It was all rather serendipitous because two loaves of rye bread, beef, sauerkraut and thousand island dressing all ran out at the same time. No pesky leftovers to tempt me into making this again. /twitch

I’m not doing the calorie breakdown cos there are too many variables. It’s definitely not healthy. But so, so worth it.

4 Responses to “Reuben Sandwich”

  1. xguard October 20, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    This makes tuna sandwich looks bad, really bad.

    • pamperedhousewife October 20, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

      That’s alright, this sandwich will eventually give me a heart attack (but so worth it!)

  2. trixfred30 October 20, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    It really puts my BLT to shame

    • pamperedhousewife October 24, 2011 at 9:25 am #

      In all fairness to the BLT, at least it doesn’t take 30 minutes to prepare. =)

Leave a Reply

