Shopping Spree at H&M

2 Oct

James and I have been watching Chuck, and he wears this jacket a lot:

image from Chucktv.net

One day I was like “you know, I really like that jacket”, and it turned out that James did too! We don’t often like the same men’s clothes, so I quickly set out trying to find it for him. Also he’s been trying to buy clothes that are a bit more grown-up (except he calls it “smarter” because he’s a little bit English) instead of wearing jeans, cargoes and baggy t-shirts.

But anyway, this lightweight jacket from H&M (£39.99) seemed pretty dead-on:

image from H&M

James didn’t actually end up getting the jacket, but I posted it anyway because I was so pleased at the similarity and wanted you all to admire my shopping skills.

He ended up going for another one (£69.99) – also found by me at H&M – I ended up browsing through the whole men’s line because I loved their stuff so much. There are a lot of similarities with this jacket and the Chuck jacket, but I think James preferred this one because of the collar. It also looks a bit thicker and a little bit … smarter. =D

image from H&M

He also got this hoodie (£19.99). He has a lot of hoodies, but they’re all really casual and baggy because he always buys oversized clothes. The problem is that he always buys stuff to fit his long arms, but then the shoulders are too far down and the torso is too loose. We’re anticipating the same problem with the jacket and hoodie – probably worse because he bought them in Medium instead of Large or Extra Large like he normally does – but hopefully our seamstress can work something out with the sleeves.

image from H&M

I also picked up this top (£19.99) because I need more dressy-ish tops. Luckily my sizing is always much easier to figure out.

image from H&M

The only flaw in my careful plan was that H&M doesn’t ship outside of the UK. But James’ grandma did us a huge favour and agreed to carry our purchases over when she travels here next month. It was really awesome of her because I was prepared to pay for a UK mail forwarding service (and probably will next time when the dates don’t work out so conveniently).

And then double bonus – I was also able to find an online code for 25% off the most expensive item that also stacked with a voucher for £5 off the total order. So I just made three separate orders, and even after shipping that saved something like £40 off their already-reasonable prices. =)

Also each time I made an order the credit card company panicked and called us to check whether our cards had been stolen. I was surprised that the purchases were flagged as suspicious given how much I buy online, but it’s nice that they are vigilant!

4 Responses to “Shopping Spree at H&M”

  1. xguard October 3, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    I really gotta say you are good at shopping. 10,000 hours put in.

    • pamperedhousewife October 3, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

      10,000 hours and I don’t even want to think about how much money!

  2. James October 5, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    This is why I delegate my shopping to Kaye

Leave a Reply

