Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil Day Pack

22 Sep

I just bought the Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil day Pack from Pinnacle for $29.95.

I originally wanted the blue, but it wasn’t as nice in person, so I got the grey instead. It’s definitely not going to win any beauty contests, but it serves its purpose well. You can keep in your car or bag (or even on your keychain if you don’t mind the bulk) and expands into a 20L backpack when needed.

image from Sea to Summit

The material looks really thin and flimsy, so I was a bit wary, but it managed two 2L soft drink bottles, some milk, and shaving cream with room to spare. And you know how sharp corners sometimes poke holes in shopping bags? That totally didn’t happen, even though the backpack is about the same thickness as a shopping bag.

The Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil Daypack is extremely lightweight and reasonably comfortable for what it is (obviously it has no padding or high tech ergonomic solutions). I actually prefer it to my North Face Borealis for carrying groceries home in because it only has the single compartment and weighs a lot less.

It’s very easy to re-stuff the backpack into its little carry bag (which remains attached to the backpack at all times). It’s not like some sleeping bags where you end up with a lot of overflow and it looks like an exploded sausage.

It’s a handy little thing, especially if you buy your groceries in dribs and drabs like I do, and don’t like carrying shopping bags on your shoulder. It’s a lot less bulky than my Borealis (which hasn’t gotten malleable over time – it’s still very stiff), and I am seriously considering using this as my trekking daypack instead. I’ll pressure test it some more in the upcoming weeks, but so far I’m giving it a big thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

