Pan Pacs 2011

19 Sep

The 2011 Pan Pacs were on this weekend (hence the paucity of blog posts this week). It was a great (though tiring) weekend, and it was awesome seeing my friends compete. I like supporting my friends much better than I like competing!

I won the straight finals for my division in nogi and gi. My opponent had a very tricky half guard, which was a bitch to get out of, but I never felt threatened during our matches. Hopefully Tish drops by to train with us sometimes and we can have a few more rolls together.

Unfortunately I lost in the first round of both opens, but I can’t be too disappointed because I lost the nogi to the 71kg nogi and gi division winner (who eventually won the open nogi), and the gi to the 67kg nogi and gi division winner (who went on to win the open gi). Everyone was so nice afterwards – complete strangers came up to me and told me they’d seen my fight, and I’d done really well. I feel a bit like I’m getting credit just for being small, but I’ll take it!

When I went to watch Kalo fight, some Brazilian guy apologised for getting in my way for taking photos, which was nice of him. Then he noticed my Maromba shirt, asked if Thiago was my coach, and said something about someone he knew training with Thiago. Then he said that he enjoyed watching my fights, that I was very technical, and he thought I’d lost the matches based on size not skill (which a guy nearby overhead and agreed with! *insert happy and bashful face*). The Brazilian guy asked my name, and then he said his name was Carlos, and that’s when I realised that Chad had pointed him out to me yesterday, and said he was Carlos Gracie Jnr. We chatted a little while longer, and he said he wished my friend luck in his fight. =) He was very kind, and it was cool being complimented by someone famous (even though I still don’t really know who he is!)

All of the days ran really late, which wasn’t unexpected but still kind of sucked. I’d go home all sticky and tired from standing around all day, go to sleep, then wake up and do it all over again. =) It was awesome seeing my friends compete (which I like much better than competing myself).

Oh yeah, and we won the trophy for the best women’s adult team, so yay!

I’m taking it easy training this week, eating whatever I want, and getting a well-deserved massage on Thursday.

Week 1: Made vanilla extract
Week 2: BJJ day camp
Week 3: Used Myki and went to Beatrix
Week 4: Tried new skincare
Week 5: Competed at the Pan Pacs

2 Responses to “Pan Pacs 2011”

  1. polittacking September 20, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Carlson not Carlos 😉

    • pamperedhousewife September 20, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      Aw, this is like when you mocked me for using “pedigree” instead of “lineage”.

Leave a Reply

