New Experiences #2 and #3

5 Sep

My new experiences resolution is going well so far. I’ve noticed that I’m constantly looking for new things to try, which is a subtle shift in how I approach things But has it slowed down my perception of time?

Actually … maybe! Doing new things makes the days feel more distinct, instead of everyday tasks blurring into each other. Even though I haven’t gone skydiving or learned a new language, trying fairly insignificant new things is definitely helping.

Week 1: Made vanilla extract
Week 2: BJJ day camp
Week 3: Used Myki and went to Beatrix (ooh double new experience!)

The Myki one sounds lame, but that’s one that is going to be a permanent change (at least once I use up my existing 10-trip metcards). James and I have had empty Myki cards for awhile but never used them.

Last week when I was visiting mum I was at Flagstaff station and could only find the Myki machine so I loaded it with $11 – enough to buy the zone 1 and 2 daily ticket that I figured I would need. I was actually able to visit mum in under 2 hours, and Myki only charged me $7.50 or something like that.

I was so pleased that I went home and told James about it, and we both used Myki on Saturday night (where Damo showed me how you don’t need to take your Myki out of your wallet to touch it to the machine).

I haven’t decided what my new experience will be this week. My skin has been drying out heaps so it might be time to try a new skincare regime, and/or I might do something with the San Francisco sourdough starter that I bought. Decisions, decisions!

5 Responses to “New Experiences #2 and #3”

  1. polittacking September 5, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    new experience #4: get drunk & start a bar fight

  2. polittacking September 5, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    2 new experiences locked in! WINNING! 😀

  3. xguard September 6, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    Climb rope with no aid from legs.

Leave a Reply

