New Experience #1: Making Vanilla Extract

20 Aug

For my first week of trying new experiences I decided to make vanilla extract (an easy one to start). I already had most of the ingredients, so all I had to do was go buy a suitable jar to store my extract in.

Ingredients:

Vodka

Vanilla Beans

I sterilized my jar by rinsing it in hot, soapy water, boiling it for 10 minutes, then drying it in the oven on lowish heat.

My jar is about 250ml, and I stuffed it with 11 vanilla beans (roughly 30g) that I halved and then split lengthwise. This is the jar with all the vanilla bits soaking inside. The liquid is fairly clear, but should darken over time as the beans infuse the vodka.

I need to shake it every week or so, and after 6 months it should be ready to use!

4 Responses to “New Experience #1: Making Vanilla Extract”

  1. The Emily in Jemily August 20, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    This sounds really fun. Do you think the quality of the vodka matters?

    • pamperedhousewife August 20, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

      Apparently you need vodka in between 37.5% and 40% alcohol. I assume you’re supposed to use a vodka that you’d be happy to drink, otherwise it might taste gross. I’ve done vodka infusions with gross vodka, and undrinkable vodka turns into undrinkable infusions. =(

  2. Melissa August 21, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    Wow, that’s super interesting and something I’ve never thought about doing. Thanks so much for sharing!

    • pamperedhousewife August 21, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

      No problem! I was pretty shocked at how easy it all was; it’s definitely worth trying! =)

Leave a Reply

