A New Challenge!

17 Aug

Yesterday Ormi and I were talking about how life seems to be going by so quickly nowadays. We’re more than halfway through this year and I don’t remember all that much happening so far. Also I was reminded of an article I read earlier this year that vaguely horrified me:

We all know, of course, that time seems to speed up as we grow older – but according to studies at the University of Cincinnati in the 70s, this effect is so pronounced that if you’re 20 today, you’re already halfway through life, in terms of your subjective experience of how time passes, even if you live until you’re 80.

I’m not even 30 and my life is (subjectively) almost over!

Luckily the article also talks about ways to make time slow the fuck down. Apparently the solution is to constantly try new things and have new experiences.

This is my new luggage tag from Etsy seller Of The Fountain. I think it goes with today’s theme pretty well.

Also, that reminds me – ages ago when James first found out about Helen Keller, he said “if she was blind and deaf, how did she know her name was Helen Keller?”

But anyway, back to the challenge! I’m the first to admit that my life is pretty damn cushy, and I think because I’m always happy and relaxed I’m quite lazy about getting out of my comfort zone. So I’ve decided that once a week I am going to do something that I don’t normally do. It doesn’t have to be something big like travelling overseas – maybe some weeks it will be almost insignificant, like trying a new exercise at the gym – but the overall goal is to have a constant flow of new experiences.

The week starts on Monday and ends on Sunday. I’ve made an executive decision that cooking a new dish does not count, since I pretty much do that once a week (oh yes, there are things I cook that I do not blog about!). Stuff that counts for now includes trying new vegetables, new exercises, and new restaurants, but if I find myself using them as an excuse to not do more exciting things, I’ll cut them out. Also, no carryovers; if I do two new things in one week, that’s a bonus and I don’t get to be all complacent the next week.

Infrequent activities, like going to a farmer’s market or going on a day trip, also count, but unpleasant infrequent activities like going to the dentist do not.

Today is Wednesday so I’ve already lost two days! Today I’m going to visit my mum and on the train ride there and back I am going to make a list of things to try.

2 Responses to “A New Challenge!”

  1. xguard August 17, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    I bet you will either do bungee jumping or parachute out of a plane sometimes in the future. Such adrenaline rush /Nod

    • pamperedhousewife August 17, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

      I’d love to try those (but I’m scared bungee jumping will hurt my back or neck). I’d also like to try zorbing, where you’re in that big plastic ball and you run down a hill!

Leave a Reply

