Lunch Today!

9 Aug

I am a leeeetle bit drunk.

Hello lunch!

Vasse Felix semillon, Holy Goat La Luna cheese, a Noisette white sourdough loaf, and some awesome, fat smoked salmon (not pictured).

La Luna is often referred to as one of Australia’s best cheesemakers, and their Holy Goat cheese has won a whole bunch of awards.

It’s priced fairly steeply compared to other cheeses, at $15, but I was in a splurgy mood.

I think I was eating the cheese wrong to begin with. I was just eating the non-rind part and thought it was a bit dry (albeit very tasty), but once you incorporate the rind the balance is much better. Also I like how the cheese looks like brains.

I don’t know if it was the booze kicking in or if it was the fact that I had a better balance of rind to cheese, but at the end I was really getting into the Holy Goat. I don’t know how it differs from regular non-award-winning goat cheese; I don’t have any other goat cheese on hand to compare and also I am not a cheese expert.

I don’t know if I’d spend $15 on it again, but I’m definitely intrigued enough to try their other cheeses.

PS – the down side to not drinking very frequently is that after a glass of wine with lunch, I needed a lie down and a shower to clear my head. I’m still feeling pretty tipsy, but less dizzy than before. That’s what I get for trying to be all fancy and mature by having wine with cheese. =(

13 Responses to “Lunch Today!”

  1. xguard August 10, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    You eat this but you don’t eat cottage cheese? wow, this looks more deadly than all other cheese family

    • pamperedhousewife August 10, 2011 at 9:31 am #

      Goat cheese has flavour! Goat cheese is weird-tasting and is scary and lumpy. =(

  2. polittacking August 10, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    should have drunk the whole bottle….

    • pamperedhousewife August 10, 2011 at 11:14 am #

      I need some of it to cook! I prefer red, and only buy white if I’m cooking something that needs it.

  3. polittacking August 10, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    pussy

    • pamperedhousewife August 10, 2011 at 11:21 am #

      Given how dizzy I was after one glass, I think I would have been in hospital after the whole bottle!

      • Cat August 10, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

        I guess I got the alcoholic genes in the family. 1 bottle = a good night for me!

  4. polittacking August 10, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    cat > kaye

    • pamperedhousewife August 10, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

      You can’t see me right now, but I frowned so hard when I read that.

      • polittacking August 10, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

        sorry kayemon šŸ˜¦

  5. Cat August 10, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    double frown!

    • pamperedhousewife August 10, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

      I’ll double frown you!

      Also, a lot of the time when mum and dad talk to me they’re like “and make sure Cat doesn’t drink too much!” =P

      • Cat August 10, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

        haha as if you could control me like that! I’d smack you with my broken beer bottle!

Leave a Reply

