Pho Dzung (The Cow and the Chicken)

28 Jul

Pho Dzung
208 Victoria St, Richmond

Mum took me out for lunch on Victoria street in Richmond this afternoon. We went to Pho Dzung, her favourite pho place (partially, I suspect, because it’s right near the car park). I’ve never known what it was called until now – I’ve just always mentally referred to it as “the cow and the chicken place”.

Pho Dzung represents everything that is good about ethnic places – cheap prices, good food, and efficient service. Prices have gradually increased over the years, but they’re still very reasonable. I remember when I was  a kid and you could buy pho for $5 and banh mi for $2. It’s now $9.50 for the pho and $3.70 for the banh mi (for some reason I thought it was $5.50 for the banh mi, but Cat assures me that is incorrect).

I ordered the number 1, and mum ordered a combination of 1 and 5. Mum and I used to order a side of spring rolls to split, but I eat a lot less than I used to. (Also look at the number 6 beverage. Milk soda with egg yolk??)

They seemed slightly stingier with the meat than normal, but maybe that’s because I ordered a small instead of the medium I used to get.

At first I had a bit of a panic. “Where are the chillies??” I wondered. But they were just hidden beneath the lemon. Phew.

If you’ve had pho before, then you pretty much know how it goes, and Pho Dzung does it particularly well. Delicious broth, a bunch of noodles, flavoured with the chilli, lemon, thai basil, and bean sprouts. I could have done with a bit more Thai basil, but it’s not a big deal.

I drink all the broth because it’s so delicious that it seems like a crime to let it go to waste. I always feel deceptively full afterwards, and half an hour later I’m peckish again. I really should have ordered the crispy spring rolls.

I’ve toyed with the idea of making my own pho, but I vaguely remember Pat telling me that it stinks up your house for ages. I wonder if Pho Dzung will let me just buy the broth.
Pho Dzung Tan Dinh on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

