Pumpkin Gingerbread

26 Jul

Last week I was bored and decided to tackle one of the recipes that has been on my to-do list for awhile: pumpkin gingerbread.

I think in general, Australians tend to lump pumpkin in the vegetable category, and we don’t really think about it going in desserts. But pumpkin is quite sweet, so there’s no reason we shouldn’t. In the US they have pumpkin cheesecakes and pumpkin pie, and really the only thing keeping me from making them was that they required pumpkin puree.

If I lived in the US I could just buy a can, but here I had to make my own. I’m generally put off when you have to make another recipe before you attempt the actual recipe (hence my Momofuku cookbook sitting there unused so far), but like I said, I was bored.

Luckily the internet abounds with pumpkin puree methods and it’s pretty straightforward – it’s just a matter of peeling and de-seeding the pumpkin, chopping it, roasting it, then throwing it all in the food processor. Here I am draining the excess liquid.

I used about 1/3 of the puree to make pumpkin gingerbread, and froze the rest to make future pumpkin treats.

Once the puree-making is out of the way, the pumpkin bread is as easy as making any other bread. I used this recipe from Allrecipes with some alterations as recommended by reviews. I also subbed mixed spice for allspice, but that’s because I didn’t have any. The recipe makes 2 loaves, but I made 1 loaf and 3 mini loaves.

It has a gorgeous, rich flavour, and tastes like a more caramelly version of banana bread. And with bananas currently at $10+/kg and pumpkins at 80c/kg, it’s a much more economical option.

Oh yeah, while baking it made my whole apartment smell heavenly. If we ever want to sell this place I am definitely baking some pumpkin gingerbread before the inspections.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups sugar (I ran out of white sugar so I used 2 cups white sugar, 1 cup brown)
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 425g pumpkin puree
  • 4 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 tsp ground allspice or mixed spice
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp ground cloves
  • 3 1/2 cups plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 165C. Lightly grease two 9×5 inch loaf pans.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine sugar, oil and eggs; beat until smooth. Add water and beat until well blended. Stir in spices.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine flour, soda, salt, and baking powder. Add dry ingredients to pumpkin mixture and blend just until all ingredients are mixed. Divide batter between prepared pans.
  4. Bake in preheated oven until toothpick comes out clean, about 1 hour and 15 ,minutes (45 minutes for the mini loaves).

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 loaf: 3459 calories, 33% fat, 6% protein, 61% carbs 

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Gingerbread”

  1. Cat July 26, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    Yum! Tho whoa, calories!

    • pamperedhousewife July 26, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

      Just don’t eat the whole loaf, fatty! (or sub applesauce for the oil)

      The worst was the tarte tatin I made. That was 2000+ calories and both James and I can eat it all at once.

  2. Karen July 27, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    Your gingerbread sounds delicious. Living in the US, we take canned pumpkin for granted. I was also surprised by the price of bananas there. They are very cheap here. Enjoyed you’re blog.

    • pamperedhousewife July 27, 2011 at 9:08 am #

      Thanks for commenting! =)

      The floods in Queensland wiped out a lot of the banana crop, so that’s why they’re so expensive at the moment. They used to be around $1/kg. From what I’ve seen online though, US prices seem a lot cheaper than Australian prices in general. I’m so jealous!

Leave a Reply

