Bodyfat Challenge: Weeks Four and Five

25 Jul

I’ve combined these two weeks because they’ve been pretty similar.

I was supposed to increase my training during the last half of the challenge, but was thwarted by illness and injury. In week four I was stuck in a guillotine that was uncomfortable but not painful, so I didn’t tap, but the next morning my neck was killing me. I kept thinking it would get better until I finally gave up a week later and got a massage. Then it felt heaps better and I felt like an idiot for waiting so long.

Diet-wise it could have been better too. Some new cookbooks arrived last week and I couldn’t resist trying out the recipes. But in general I’m very consistently eating lots of protein, getting lots of leafy greens in my diet, and I’ve reduced my non-vegetable carbs.

I’m not too fussed, since I’m taking a fairly long-term view on this. I’ll be surprised (and quite pleased!) if I’ve lost anything during this challenge, but in hindsight 6 weeks (most of which I was still injured) was probably a bit optimistic anyway.

My macronutrient breakdown is better than it was a month ago (though calorie-wise I’m still eating too much) and once I start training like I used to I’ll be back under 50kg.

Kalo is the only one who hasn’t given up on the Bodyfat Challenge, so he is quietly confident that he will be the winner.

Plans for the Final Week

There is still some pain with chin-ups, but I’ve started benching again. I started with a warm-up set at 20kg, then gradually went up, testing my chest strength and rotator cuff. I did

25kg x 8
30kg x 8
32.5kg x 5
35kg x 5

with no problems, so yay!

I’m going to keep my diet as-is and try to squeeze in a couple of extra workouts this week. I’m still shaking off a light cold so we’ll see how it goes. =)

Previously:
Bodyfat Challenge: Week Three
Bodyfat Challenge: Week Two
Bodyfat Challenge: Week One
Bodyfat Challenge!

5 Responses to “Bodyfat Challenge: Weeks Four and Five”

  1. polittacking July 25, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    yay for me! i will be un-amused if after all my dedication i still lose though 😦

    • pamperedhousewife July 25, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

      Well you’re definitely going to beat me! I’m still at the same weight I was at the start. I’ve gotten a little bit stronger, but I don’t know if that means I’ve gained muscle or just gotten more efficient at using my existing muscle.

  2. xguard July 25, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    People just kinda lose motivation during winter and turn to comfort food=(

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bodyfat Challenge: Completed! « Diary of a Pampered Housewife - August 5, 2011

    […] Bodyfat Challenge: Weeks Four and Five Bodyfat Challenge: Week Three Bodyfat Challenge: Week Two Bodyfat Challenge: Week One Bodyfat Challenge! Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed Millenium Development Goals Report 2011 […]

Leave a Reply

