Chinese Barbecued Chicken Drumettes

23 Jul

This is a blast from the past! These wings from Almost Bourdain remind me so much of the ones my mum used to make when I was little – moist, and full of this great, barbecuey flavour. It’s one of those great recipes that tastes really pro even though all you did was mix some sauces together, marinate the meat, then roast in the oven.

The flavour is much better when you let it marinate overnight, and it’s easy enough to just mix everything together before going to bed.

The original recipe specifies wings, but I always use drumettes because I am lazy and don’t like separating the wings (though I’ve used wings in my nutrition estimate, because Calorie King doesn’t have drumettes). The recipe is supposed to serve 4, but James and I normally split these 35/65 between us, so I’m counting it as 2 serves.

Mindful of the high calorie content, I usually serve this with steamed Asian greens. (That makes up for blowing my daily calorie limit on one meal right?)

Ingredients

  • 1 kg chicken wings
  • 1 TBSP peanut oil
  • 1 TBSP soy sauce
  • 2 TBSP char siu sauce
  • 1 tsp five spice powder

Method

  1. Cut wings into three pieces at joints and discard tips.
  2. Combine oil, sauces and five spice in a large bowl. Add chicken and toss to coat all over. Cover and refrigerate for 3 hours or overnight.
  3. Preheat oven to 220C.
  4. Place chicken in a single layer on a wire rack set over a baking tray. Brush remaining marinade over chicken and roast for around 30 minutes or until the chicken is well browned and cooked through.

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 serve: 1238 calories, 69% fat, 26% protein, 5% carbs


					
Leave a Reply

