Bodyfat Challenge: Week Two

6 Jul

Unfortunately, the second week did not live up to my high hopes.

Breakfast

I did manage to improve my breakfasts – I had to resort to yoghurt a couple of days when I was in a rush, but largely managed to have vegetable and protein-packed breakfasts. My current favourite is cavolo nero (I think it’s also known as Tuscan cabbage or black kale) chopped finely and fried in some oil with garlic and/or onion, with two poached eggs on top and a dollop of sriracha. It works out well when James is home – we split a bunch of cavolo nero between us.

Lunch and Dinner

Breakfast was the only high point, and otherwise I got really slack. I would pat myself on the back for having such an awesome breakfast, then eat something carby for lunch, and then worry about what I had for lunch, which made me eat less than normal for dinner, which gave me awful headaches, which in turn made me skip my exercise sessions.

In hindsight I can’t believe I was so dumb. Even if I eat badly at lunch I should just carry on as normal – trying to “compensate” for my poor eating just leads to more poor eating and less energy to train.

Exercise

I was freaking out a bit that my foolish eating and skipped gym sessions would stuff up my strength gains, but I managed a 70kg single back squat (138% bodyweight) on Sunday so all is good. Everything was a bit shakier than normal, so I will have to make sure I’m eating enough in the following weeks. Lesson learned.

My weight was pretty similar to last week, hovering around 50.8kg.

Diet/Exercise Improvements

I’m seeing the physio today so hopefully I’ll be able to ramp up my training. I’ll start by adding a couple of BJJ sessions back to my weekly schedule and hopefully I’ll be able to start incorporating some upper body exercises into my workouts too.

Previously:
Bodyfat Challenge: Week One
Bodyfat Challenge!

5 Responses to “Bodyfat Challenge: Week Two”

  1. xguard July 6, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Do you think your cat get confused when you call him mouse? What’s the story behind the unique naming?

    • pamperedhousewife July 6, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

      Mouse is just confused all the time – he’s not a very smart cat. =(

      And I can’t remember! I think he was small like a mouse when we got him, so that’s why we decided to call him that.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bodyfat Challenge: Week Three « Diary of a Pampered Housewife - July 13, 2011

    […] Bodyfat Challenge: Week Two Bodyfat Challenge: Week One Bodyfat […]

  2. Bodyfat Challenge: Weeks Four and Five « Diary of a Pampered Housewife - July 25, 2011

    […] Bodyfat Challenge: Week Three Bodyfat Challenge: Week Two Bodyfat Challenge: Week One Bodyfat Challenge! Eco World Content From Across The Internet. […]

  3. Bodyfat Challenge: Completed! « Diary of a Pampered Housewife - August 5, 2011

    […] Challenge: Weeks Four and Five Bodyfat Challenge: Week Three Bodyfat Challenge: Week Two Bodyfat Challenge: Week One Bodyfat Challenge! Eco World Content From Across The Internet. […]

Leave a Reply

