Freestyle Customs BJJ Children’s Gi

4 Jul

With the high AUD and my old gis looking a little worse for wear, I decided to splash out on a new gi. Being a small chick I get to buy children’s BJJ gis, which is sweet because they are cheaper than the adult ones.

Jess showed me the Freestyle Customs gis, which I thought looked pretty nice. And the children’s gis were only $75, score! (though shipping was $50, boo) This time though, I didn’t even buy the largest children’s gi.

M3 – Height 4’9″-5”, Weight 95-110lb (43-50kg)
M4 – Height 5′-5’3″, Weight 110-125lb (50-57kg)

My height (5’3″) and weight (110lb/50kg) fit into the M4, but in my (admittedly limited) experience, these things are always a bit generous. And since I have short legs I went for the M3. It was a bit of a leap of faith, so it was with some trepidation that I awaited the arrival of my gi.

Well I need not have worried. This thing is massive. I bet I could have fit into the M2 (Height 4’6″-4’9″, Weight 80-95lb (36-43kg)) except maybe the legs would have been too short.  The jacket is pretty baggy but the pants are perfect. I have to say, it freaks me out that there are children this size.

But anyway, onto the gi. My pimp black gi came with a pimp black gi bag.

I probably won’t use it, but it’s a nice touch, especially for a cheap $75 gi. My Koral cost more than that (though I bought it in Australia) and didn’t come with a cool bag.

This is the front view of the gi (you can see that Mouse decided to get in on a little of the photo action).  I like the reinforced knees – it makes me feel hardcore, instead of like someone who is always stuck on her back, trapped underneath other people.

Side view.

Back view. I like the Freestyle Customs logo – it looks radioactive! Though I’m not crazy about the placement on the back, since it’s going to get covered with my club patch anyway (and I really hope the patch is big enough to fully cover the logo, because otherwise it will look stupid). I don’t understand why manufacturers put their logo there – surely a huge proportion of the gi-buying public patches their gis?

Just the pants (my God, my head is huge).

Comparison with the Koral Light Children’s Gi

The gi is thicker than my Koral Light, which is to be expected. It doesn’t feel much  heavier though. Here is a comparison of the two thicknesses.

Collar (Koral is a bit frayed!)

Sleeves:

Here are some crappy photos that give you a general indicator of how the sizing compares with my Koral. I lined everything up as much as I could, but you can see than the Freestyle is a much roomier cut.

And the pants.

I’m going to give it a vinegar bath and then run it through the washing machine. It’s already accumulated a bit of dust (and ambient fur from the cats), which really shows up against the black!

The pants are very comfortable on, but the jacket feels kind of bulky. It’s not too noticeable when belted up, but there really is a lot of excess material there. I’ll see how it feels when I roll, but I may have to investigate ways of shrinking it.

4 Responses to “Freestyle Customs BJJ Children’s Gi”

  1. xguard July 4, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    OMG, you got a new gi! That looks sick! Time to roll osu

    • pamperedhousewife July 4, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

      Yeah my Koral has holes in it so I thought it was time to get a new one! =D

  2. polittacking July 4, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    i like that gi dude… looks good

    • pamperedhousewife July 4, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

      I like it too (though I wish it were slightly smaller). I’m a sucker for contrast stitching.

Leave a Reply

