Lamb with Greek Style Vegetables

2 Jul

I was in the mood for souvlaki – or something lamby and garlicky at least, so I decided to try this recipe from Taste.

I made a few changes to the original recipe. I used sweet potato instead of regular potato, omitted the pumpkin (which I didn’t have), and increased the amount of zucchini. It’s a pretty forgiving recipe so just estimated meat and vegetable portions.

The meal is supposed to serve 4, and that’s what I’ve based the nutritional info on. I think I must have used more lamb than the recipe stated because I reckon this will stretch out for 6 meals for us.  The lamb leg was pretty fatty, so I sliced off the grossest fat chunks. The original recipe also required the lamb to be sprayed with cooking oil, but I thought that was ridiculous – lamb is so fatty anyway! – so I omitted that part too. It was still delicious and moist.

Ingredients

  • 750g sweet potato, peeled, cut into 3cm chunks
  • 750g zucchini, cut into 3cm chunks
  • 2 1/2 TBSP olive oil (I only used 1 TBSP and it was fine)
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 3 tsp dried oregano
  • 750g easy-carve lamb leg
  • 1 TBSP Greek seasoning
  • tzatziki and pita bread, to serve

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 230C. Toss vegetables, oil, garlic and oregano and spread over roasting pan.
  2. Roast for 30 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, cut lamb into 2cm pieces and toss with Greek seasoning.
  4. Reduce oven to 200C (I forgot this step, but it didn’t seem to make a difference). Place lamb on top of vegetables and bake for 15 minutes for medium or until cooked to your liking.
  5. Serve with tzatziki and pita bread.

Do not be fooled by the picture. This collapsed in my hands as soon as I ate it! The next time I just cut the pita bread into triangles and toasted it in a 200C oven for 1o minutes – smoky and delicious!

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 serve (not including tzatziki and pita bread): 563 calories, 35% fat, 44% protein, 21% carbs

Leave a Reply

