Bodyfat Challenge!

21 Jun

Some BJJ buddies and I are embarking on a 6 week challenge to cut some body fat. I don’t remember the specifics, but the person who cuts the most of their remaining bodyfat gets $25 from all of the losers. You can tell by my haphazard recollection of the challenge parameters that I’m not really expecting to win, but $25 is a small price to pay for 6 weeks of motivation. =)

We all got Lili from Absolute Mixed Martial Arts to test us with calipers, and I had a “before” photo taken. Ugh, moment of truth. This is what 3 months of slacking off will do:

Weight: 51.7kg
Bodyfat: 20.48%

I look really happy because Kalo said something that made me laugh (I can’t remember what though – I think he ordered me to stop sucking in my gut so the “after” photos would be more dramatic). He also took one where I was trying to look sad, but I looked weird, so I went with overly happy instead.

My diet these past few months has been relatively good, but I was less stringent than normal since I was only exercising 3x a week and I didn’t need to make weight for comps. It was a double whammy because I didn’t have those extra workouts to help soak up those extra calories. When I’m uninjured I sit around 50kg without much effort – as soon as I dropped back to just gym I shot up to 52kg and have hovered there ever since.

For about half of the Bodyfat Challenge I won’t be able to train upper body/BJJ so I’ll be doubly careful with what I eat, and I’ll add an extra session of yoga, and some HIIT sprints to help my cardio and give that fat-burning a kickstart.

I’ll post weekly updates on my exercise and diet progress, though I won’t know my body fat percentage until the end.

I’m sad to say goodbye to my frequent cheat meals, but I’m looking forward to getting back in shape!

9 Responses to “Bodyfat Challenge!”

  1. xguard June 21, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Does that mean no more yummy pictures of food and easy to follow recipe for people who aspire to become better cooks? dang=(

    • pamperedhousewife June 21, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      Don’t worry Stan, I’ll try to keep posting recipes! Maybe this will inspire me to look up some healthy new ones. =D

  2. polittacking June 21, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    i love that the post befoer this one was about going to eat pastries…

    • pamperedhousewife June 21, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

      I only had one pastry! (plus a bite of the chocolate cake I brought home for James)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bodyfat Challenge: Week One « Diary of a Pampered Housewife - June 27, 2011

    […] Previously: Bodyfat Challenge! […]

  2. Bodyfat Challenge: Week Two « Diary of a Pampered Housewife - July 6, 2011

    […] Previously: Bodyfat Challenge: Week One Bodyfat Challenge! […]

  3. Bodyfat Challenge: Week Three « Diary of a Pampered Housewife - July 13, 2011

    […] Previously: Bodyfat Challenge: Week Two Bodyfat Challenge: Week One Bodyfat Challenge! […]

  4. Bodyfat Challenge: Weeks Four and Five « Diary of a Pampered Housewife - July 25, 2011

    […] Bodyfat Challenge: Week Three Bodyfat Challenge: Week Two Bodyfat Challenge: Week One Bodyfat Challenge! Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed Why It's a Bad Idea to […]

  5. Bodyfat Challenge: Completed! « Diary of a Pampered Housewife - August 5, 2011

    […] Four and Five Bodyfat Challenge: Week Three Bodyfat Challenge: Week Two Bodyfat Challenge: Week One Bodyfat Challenge! Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed Millenium Development […]

Leave a Reply

