Peking Duck Stock

14 Jun

After our amazing Peking duck meal, I was left with the carcass of the BBQ duck – there was even some meat still left on the bones. There was no way I was going to let all of that go to waste, so I went and googled some recipes for duck stock.

I found a recipe that seemed to fit the bill from this blog. I made a couple of changes, but largely left the recipe as it was. I was originally going to turn it into soup, but the stock itself was so flavoursome that I just ended up serving it with some of the duck meat that had fallen off the bone.

Ingredients

  • The bones (the whole carcass including head) of 1 Peking Duck
  • 2 carrots, peeled and cut in thirds
  • 1 brown onion, peeled and halved
  • 2 stalks of lemongrass, white part only, bashed
  • 1 inch piece of ginger, peeled and bashed
  • 2 star anise
  • A few sprigs of parsley
  • 2 stalks of spring onions
  • 2o whole black peppercorns
  • 20 sichuan peppercorns
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons Shaoxing wine

Method

  1. Place everything in a stockpot and cover with water. The water should reach about an inch over the duck.
  2. Bring to a boil and skim off any scum that appears. Reduce to a simmer and cover pot. Let the stock simmer gently for 2-3 hours.
  3. Uncover pot and simmer for about 30 minutes more to reduce stock. Taste and either adjust seasoning or reduce further to deepen flavour.

I served my duck soup with a stir fry made of the leftover duck meat and choy sum (along with some shitake mushrooms, rice noodles and hoisin sauce). It was incredibly satisfying, both in a tastebuddy way and also knowing that nothing went to waste. I stocked the freezer with about a litre of Peking duck soup/stock, and even had some leftover stir fry for lunch the next day. Hooray for the duck that brought so much tastiness to our lives!

2 Responses to “Peking Duck Stock”

  1. JK February 2, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    Hey, this recipe worked out great but I think I would put in one less star anise, the flavor was quite strong with two. Also, I put in some leftover green ends of leeks and this gave the soup a very nice and savory taste.

    • pamperedhousewife February 2, 2012 at 9:41 am #

      Next time I’ll try it with your suggestions and see how it goes. Thanks for the feedback! =)

Leave a Reply

