I am Peeking at your Peeking Peking Duck!

10 Jun

Something my parents used to do as a treat was to have Peking duck at home. They would buy a roast duck from a Chinese BBQ shop and gather all the ingredients, then we would make our own Peking duck. Obviously it’s not the same as the restaurants, but in terms of flavour it’s pretty much there. I can’t say that I enjoy it any less than the proper version.

The spread. (I felt like we needed more vegetables, so I made some choy sum. I really shouldn’t have bothered. If I took an “after” shot you would have seen that everything was cleaned out, except the choy sum, which hadn’t been touched)

The star of the show was BBQ duck from Rose Garden, which cost $27. (I remember the first time we did this we bought the duck somewhere else since Rose Garden was sold out, and the duck cost the same but was sooo much smaller and crapper)

In hindsight we should have immediately divided the duck bits in half because I think a Rose Garden duck could be spread out for 2 nights of Peking duck, but we were a bit greedy at the start and overloaded our pancakes. We thought the ducky times would never end. =(

Earlier this week I bought some pancakes from Asian grocer. They were $9.40 for 10 which is a total rip off since it’s just flour and water, but I was pleasantly surprised that 10 pancakes actually = 20, since each pancake has 2 layers. So still a rip off, but not as egregious, and much less hassle than making your own, which I have done 2 times now. I assumed I’d have to steam them, but there were no instructions on the packet and googling didn’t yield any results, so I called mum and asked her how to prepare them. Turns out you just have to microwave them for 20-30 seconds at a time (lightly misting with water if it’s getting a bit dry). Easy!

While James was slicing the duck (you can see him doing it in the above photo), I cut up some cucumber and spring onion. I used 1 lebanese cucumber and 3 spring onions.

And of course, we didn’t forget the hoisin sauce.

A special meal requires special booze: James had some Mountain Goat pale ale and I had my Rekorderlig strawberry-lime cider, which Nicola introduced me to a couple of days ago. I really like it, but James thinks it tastes like lollies.

The first time I had this cider, I didn’t realise it was alcoholic. It’s 500ml, which is a pretty hefty serve, and after I drank it I was feeling really light-headed. It was weird experience because normally when I’m tipsy I know it’s because I’ve been drinking. But it was disconcerting having that tipsy feeling when I didn’t realise why I was feeling like that.

I should have taken a photo of the assembled pancake, but I was pretty hungry at that point. You will just have to take my word for it that it was an awesome meal. Like you know how sometimes you take a bite of something and you almost fall over because it is so perfect and fantastic, and you are just so freaking happy? Yeah, it was like that. Except lots of bites. (And possibly the almost falling over was due to the cider. But still!)

9 Responses to “I am Peeking at your Peeking Peking Duck!”

  1. Kalo June 10, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    i approve of this meal & beer combination

  2. Kalo June 10, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    nice bottle?

  3. xguard June 10, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    Yummy yummmy I got duck in my tummy

  4. Kalo June 10, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    duck is the king of poultry… if it was a totalitarian dictator it woud totally supress chicken and make it second class citizen

    • pamperedhousewife June 10, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

      Sometimes I buy duck and sage sausages that are out of this world delicious. But they’re like $40 a kilo (or maybe it’s $30) so I don’t buy them often.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peking Duck Stock « Diary of a Pampered Housewife - June 14, 2011

    […] our amazing Peking duck meal, I was left with the carcass of the BBQ duck – there was even some meat still left on the […]

Leave a Reply

