Oriental Spoon

2 Jun

Oriental Spoon
254 La Trobe St, Melbourne

Last month mum dropped by to take me out to a surprise lunch, but the place she wanted to go to was closed. So she told me to pick somewhere else, and since she doesn’t like Rose Garden (she likes the food but not the ambiance – or lack thereof). So I took her to Oriental Spoon in the CBD, which is consistently good and cheap, with less of an “eat and get out” atmosphere.

We started off with complimentary kim chi, coleslaw and bean shoots.

Mum left the ordering to me, so I got a pork bulgogi, which was rated 2 chillis for spiciness James and I have previously also ordered the beef bulgogi, but I remember we preferred the pork. The bulgogi came with a bowl of rice, which I gave to mum. It (the bulgogi, not the rice) was noticeably spicy, but I was still able to take continuous mouthfuls, which I can’t do with super spicy food. At the end mum said she thought it was too spicy, and I was surprised because I remember dad saying that mum could tolerate a lot of spiciness. And mum was all “I can tolerate it. I don’t like it.” Oops.

The first time I came here I ordered the seafood jeon (pancake) and it was incredible. Perfectly crisp, but it still had body from the fillings, and was packed with flavour. But I’ve been disappointed the subsequent times I’ve ordered it – the filling has been slightly mushy, and it falls apart in my eager little paws. Mum thinks maybe they use too much flour.

I keep ordering it, hoping to recreate that first magical time, but I should probably just move on and order something else from the delicious-looking menu.

I can’t remember how much everything was, but the bill came to just under $30, and mum was kind of startled and said it was very good value. It’s very hard to get that admission out of mum, so I was pleased!

When I got home and was chatting to Cat on gmail she was all like “you guys went to lunch without me??” Sorry Catabum – someone has to be the favourite.

(not you)

=)

7 Responses to “Oriental Spoon”

  1. Cat June 2, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Screw you – I got hit by a CAR and deserve more sympathy than that!

  2. Kalo June 2, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    i am the favourite too kaye 🙂 feels good doesn’t it?

    • pamperedhousewife June 2, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

      At my wedding, my dad made a speech where he described me as my mum’s “pride and joy”.

      A few weeks later, my friend Marc said that was one of his favourite parts, because he got a really good view of Cat’s shocked face.

  3. Kalo June 2, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    whenever we visit my grandma together she always tells my sister what a horrible child she was and how wonderful i am

    • pamperedhousewife June 2, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

      OK Cat was DEFINITELY my grandma’s favourite. =(

      I remember when we were little, we were jumping on the bed and play fighting, and cat kicked me in the vagina. That made me pee myself, and then my grandma smacked me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oriental Spoon (Again!) « Diary of a Pampered Housewife - September 6, 2011

    […] and I had lunch at Oriental Spoon not too long ago but I’ve never been at night before. Oriental spoon is a lot busier Saturday night, and we […]

Leave a Reply

