An Unexpected Purchase: The Dyson Handheld DC34 Animal

30 May

The handheld DC34 Animal has been on my want list for awhile, and yesterday when we were in Harvey Norman buying iTunes cards for James I saw that it was 20% off. Also that there is a new model – the purple version is on its way out.

I went for a play with it, vacuuming the floor around the area (which I bet a lot of people do – I bet the carpet around the vacuum cleaners is the cleanest in the whole store).

It has this awesome motorhead brush, especially designed for picking up pet fur. The suction was just as good as my Dyson at home, and it was so light that I was positive it would get a lot more use. But I’ve spent so much money in the past few weeks, plus there is an upcoming Lululemon purchase in the low to mid hundreds.

James saw me wavering, torn between my lust for the Dyson and my desire to not appear greedy. He sighed, picked up the box, and took it to the counter.

You wouldn’t think that would alleviate the guilt, but you know what? It totally did. Thank you Jamesy!

When we got home, the cats were very intrigued by the box.

“Twice the suction,” Mouse thought, looking disturbed.

I used it this morning and it was fantastic. I only vacuumed a few days ago, and already it has picked up a huge amount of pet hair. It was easy to empty (which is good, since there is only a teeny tiny cannister), and light enough to use one-handed even with my non-dominant hand. It’s trigger-operated, which helps preserve battery life. I think there’s supposed to be something like 15 minutes of charge (6 if you use the boost setting) but that’s more than enough time to hit the main spots in the apartment. In fact I’ve vacuumed everything I wanted to this morning, and I had to push the MAX button in order to drain the battery so I could charge it again.

Also I love not having a cord. I feel like some sort of space cowboy, wielding my cleaning gun as I run around the apartment looking for things to vacuum. Speck of dust? Press the trigger and zap! (OK more like a vacuum sound, but whatever.) If the handheld is as awesome as I am beginning to suspect it is, I’ll probably eBay my old Dyson. The only downside is that the barrel Dyson has this really nice fluffy brush that I use for stuff like the TV screen and the base of the bar stools.

With the old Dyson, I’d vacuum once every couple of weeks because it was heavy, and not really worth dragging out of the laundry unless I needed to vacuum the whole apartment. But with the little handheld, if one area looks a bit dusty I can just whip it out and vacuum there. I can vacuum the places that really accumulate cat hair (like the stairs!) every day.

I know, I know, how lame to get excited about housework. But I am! And you know what? If you had a cool space age suction gun, you’d be excited about vacuuming too. /crosses arms

4 Responses to “An Unexpected Purchase: The Dyson Handheld DC34 Animal”

  1. xguard May 31, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    Did you fight Jess last night?

    • pamperedhousewife May 31, 2011 at 11:06 am #

      I can’t fight anyone at the moment, but I did drills with her. Is this about the black eye? She got that during drills! I accidentally kneed her in the eye. =(

  2. xguard May 31, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    it’s the power of pistol and squat I tell ya=)

    • pamperedhousewife May 31, 2011 at 11:43 am #

      I did a 3×5 of 10kg pistol squats last week. You have some catching up to do! =D

Leave a Reply

