New Gym Program

14 May

Now that I know I have 6-8 weeks for recovery I thought I’d go chat to Nic and get him to recommend some more leg exercises since I’m sick of cycling through back squat, glute-ham raises, deadlifts and pistol squats. In addition to being our favourite gym instructor, he’s in his final year studying to be a physio and also the strongest person I know, so I always listen to his advice!

Actually I just remembered a story Nic told us. He saw a guy trying to do a one-armed chin-up, and cool exercises like that are kind of his forte, so he went up to the guy and gave him some advice (namely that he’d progress faster if he did negatives). But apparently the guy copped a bit of attitude and was like “Can you do them? Probably not.” So yeah, Nic busted a few out, which as far as I know made the guy shut up and do some negatives.

But anyway, for my new program we’re changing my back squats up a bit. Currently I do 5×5, starting from 20kg and going up in 10kg increments. The new squat routine seems to be pretty flexible, but it’s basically mixing the weights and reps up a bit, eg:

5×3 at 40kg to warm up
50kg x 3
55kg x 3
60kg x 2
65kg x 1
67.5kg x 1
then dropping back down to 5×3 at 55kg

I’ll be squatting 3x a week (2x back squat, 1x front squat) and in addition to what I’m currently doing I’m also adding:

  • Cossacks with the 20kg barbell to warm up
  • Clean Pulls (40kg 3 x 5)
  • Kettlebell snatches with my left arm
  • Turkish get up
  • Box jumps
  • This weird exercise where I use the strength of only one leg to stand up

Nic also recommended that I sometimes do pistol squats facing a wall (well a partial wall so that my non-squatting leg can still extend) because it forces you to focus on technique, like squatting in front of a wall does.

He also gave me some extra therapy exercises to do for my shoulder, and fixed my form for my existing theraband exercises. He said my shoulder blade wings out when it shouldn’t, and you can stick your finger under there. I can’t feel the difference between doing it correctly and incorrectly, but we figured out that if I put my non-theraband hand back there I can use that to feel when I’m doing it right.

For the new rehab exercises I get to use the 1kg dumbbells. Yay me. Actually, another Nic anecdote. He tore his biceps tendon (doing some hardcore gymnastics move I think) and wasn’t allowed to lift anything for awhile, not even a can of soup. When he started exercising his arm again he had to start with the really light dumbbells for rehab. So he’d do his 140kg squat or whatever, and then he said he had to wait for some girl to finish with the 3kg dumbbell so he could use it because he was too embarrassed to ask her whether he could work in with her.

In 3 weeks I’ll be allowed to do push-ups again, but only on my knees. I’ll have to do those in private. My secret shame!

I’m really excited about my new program. I was talking to a gym buddy who has had tendonitis in his knee for several months now. He said that if he’d known that he couldn’t squat or deadlift for that long he could have done a cool program to really improve his bench or his pull-ups, but instead he was just aimless, hoping his knee would get better. So I know I have 6-8 weeks, and I really want my lower body strength to improve in that time. Then when I can do upper body stuff again I can focus on increasing that, and just maintaining for my lower body. At least I’ll have my beginner gains again. =)

12 Responses to “New Gym Program”

  1. Kalo May 16, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    strongets guy you know? i’ll bet he is not as strong as marty…

    • pamperedhousewife May 16, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

      Maybe not in terms of the big lifts, but definitely for functional strength! Can Marty do the iron cross or clapping pull-ups, or a one armed 40kg snatch with the Olympic bar? =P

  2. xguard May 16, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Gym is for winners. Bigger, faster and stronger!

    • pamperedhousewife May 16, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

      I’d rather be doing BJJ! But gym will do to keep me strong until I get back to rolling. =)

  3. Kalo May 16, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    LMAO at functonal strength, my favourite non-sensical training term… what kind of strength is not functional?

    • pamperedhousewife May 16, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

      The kind that a guy at my gym has – used to have a 180kg bench but needed assists for his pull-ups. Sure it’s a monster bench, and good for him if that’s his goal. But strength mixed with power and flexibility is a lot more useful IMO.

      PS – new squat program is going well. Hit 67.5kg (135% bodyweight) for a single. New PB!

  4. Kalo May 16, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    135% is nice work 🙂

    strength is strength though dude, strength to weight ratio is a different issue & flexibility is another one again… ‘functional strength’ is a nonsense term though

  5. pamperedhousewife May 16, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    This time next week I will have a 70kg PB squat – calling it now!

    And in deference to your hatred of the term, I will avoid using “functional strength” around you. =P Though I will always secretly whisper it in private!

  6. Kalo May 16, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    come back to training pls 😦 more steroids are the answer, not this pussy re-hab BS

    • pamperedhousewife May 16, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

      The sports doctor who gave me my cortisone injection said that it’s always guys who need additional injections. He said women tend to do their rehab and get better, but men are like “hey the pain is gone! Back to training!”

      Having said that, I’m coming back to do drills. Gonna be extra careful with the arm so the 2 physios and 1 doctor who told me to not do BJJ with it will never know!

  7. xguard May 16, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    I will call it the functional strength and kettlebell will make you unstoppable word~

    • pamperedhousewife May 16, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

      I’m quite liking the kettlebells! They only go up to 16kg, but given that I’m restricted to 1 arm they should do me for awhile. The powerlifters weight room has a 40kg kettlebell!

Leave a Reply

