Bill Granger’s Chicken and Spinach Curry

4 May

The other night I made Bill Granger’s chicken and spinach curry (recipe taken from Almost Bourdain). It’s not the sort of recipe I normally get excited about, but everything looked healthy and easy so I figured I would give it a try.

And I’m glad I did, because while it’s not particularly inspiring on paper (on screen?), add “tasty” to the healthy/easy mix, and it’s exactly the sort of recipe that gets incorporated into my regular rotation. Also the macro breakdown is almost perfect, so yay. The vegies will skew it towards carbs a bit, so you could always sub chicken breast for thigh if you want to be anal.

I paired it with some green beans instead of the recommended basmati rice. I had the leftovers with broccoli, which was fantastic because the florets soaked up the sauce. I wish I could get the sauce thicker (maybe some cornflour?) but I do like that there’s no coconut milk or stuff like that to thicken it. That way this dish remains guilt free.

It was supposed to serve 4 but I would say it serves 3, and that’s how I’ve done the nutritional guide.

Ingredients

  • 2 TBSP vegetable oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 TBSP grated fresh ginger
  • 750g boneless chicken thighs, cubed
  • 400g tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 TBSP brown sugar
  • 1 TBSP lemon or lime juice
  • 90g (2 cups) baby spinach
  • Large handful fresh coriander leaves, chopped
Method

  1. Heat the oil in a large heavy-based pan over medium heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring, for 5-6 minutes until the onion is soft. Add the spices, garlic and ginger and cook, stirring, for 2 minutes more. Add the chicken and increase the heat to medium-high. Cook, stirring often, for 5 minutes, or until the chicken is browned.
  2. Stir in the tomatoes and salt and bring to simmering point. Reduce the heat to low, cover the pan and simmer gently for 15 minutes. Add the sugar, lemon/lime juice and spinach and stir until the spinach has just wilted. Remove from heat, sprinkle with coriander and serve with steamed rice.

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 serve: 506 calories, 41% Fat, 43% protein, 15% carbs 

2 Responses to “Bill Granger’s Chicken and Spinach Curry”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide May 4, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Great recipe, I love using thighs they’re so much juicier.

    • pamperedhousewife May 4, 2011 at 9:55 am #

      Same (though I will occasionally use breast when I’m being stricter with what I eat). But nothing beats thigh for flavour, and it’s so much more forgiving than breast if you cook it a bit long. =)

Leave a Reply

